Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I'm the author of the recipe. Add as much garlic as you like. In the USA, you may need more than specified in the recipe since the garlic here in Israel is incredibly strong and potent. To the person who "knows" authentic chummus b/c you ate it at a few restaurants in Israel and Greece... um, well, which restaurants? Because unless you were eating in a restaurant that specialized in chummus, you were eating industrialized chummus--which is kind of like eating spaghetti at Sabarro (sp?) and saying that you know authentic Italian cuisine. Chummus is an art here and you've got to know where to go to find the good stuff. I'm not saying this recipe parallels Abu Chasan or Bahadonas, but for homemade chummus, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Delicious!!! For the Americans who can't do without garlic here is another way to add it without overpowering your hummus with it: In the last 5 minutes of your boiling water with beans add some whole cloves of garlic in the water and let them boil with your beans. Add them in the blender with the rest of your ingredients, and bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Finally! I went to Israel on a tour in 2006 and ate hummus every chance I had. Since then I have not found a recipe or store brand that I thought was close to authentic. This is fabulous. It is so creamy and mild, and my husband is glad that I don't smell like garlic! The cumin gives it a good flavor and I added just a dash of cayenne to give a little kick. Cooking the dry beans instead of using canned also makes this a much fresher tasting dish. Thanks. Now if I could only find some fresh pita bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe and very authentic. I am Lebanese and the cumin makes it much more like the genuine hummus I had as a kid. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This recipe was not authentic at ALL! I had hummus in several restaurants in Israel and Greece and none of them had the cumin in them. If you're looking for "authentic", then DON'T try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is almost the same recipe I have used for years. Shown how to make by a friend as my family members did not make this. Home cooked beans are far superior to canned and much more economical. Homemade hummus (or just about anything homemade for that matter) is superior to any pre-made full of preservative thing you buy at the store. To those of you who have commented that the texture is coarse, either your beans are not cooked enough and/or you have not blended the hummus long enough, at 5 minutes in my high powered blender it is smooth, silky and fluffy. Blend, puree or process until you have the correct texture! Cumin is an authentic Near and Middle Eastern seasoning, garlic if used it is just a whisper. Remember this is not an American grocery store clone. This is the real stuff, probably a recipe passed from an elder relative to a younger one, including the most special ingredient of all, love! So if you must, add the whole bulb of garlic, roasted red pepper or a hot pepper or two, more or less tahini and lemon juice or whatever else you want to, make it with love and then it will be authentic to you and your family. Oh I almost forgot, my favorite way to eat it is warm on freshly baked, homemade pita bread or soft lavosh, some nice salty cured olives on the side! Yum!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Every middle easterner knows hummus isn't real hummus without garlic, it's essential. Mince a few cloves to this recipe and you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
The texture is amazing. Absolutely genuine flavors however when cooking my beans I threw in a couple crushed garlic cloves that kicked up the flavor just enough to give a plain cracker some taste if you're not eating it with pita bread. Goes great with apples, pretzels, bagel, sandwich spread EVERYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I guess I just hate "authentic hummus." I made a larger quantity of this for a group event (everyone loves hummus), and nobody cared for it. I took it home, added a lot of minced garlic and some Tony Chachere's seasoning, and it was all but gone the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
The perfect hummus recipe! Thanks for posting this recipe. This hummus was very creamy and delicious. I followed the exact recipe except that I used canned chickpeas instead of fresh. I used one can of chickpeas, reserving half of the liquid in the can to use in the hummus. I also halved the rest of the ingredients, but used only 1/3 cup of the tahini. Very yummy. If you like garlic, go ahead and add a few cloves, but I found that this recipe doesn't need the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States