Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe was really good but it is missing one key ingredient! GARLIC! Maybe it's the American way, but without Garlic this recipe is blah!! I tried it first without the garlic, then returned it to my mixer and added about 5 cloves of it. Now that's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookMe2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Finally! I went to Israel on a tour in 2006 and ate hummus every chance I had. Since then I have not found a recipe or store brand that I thought was close to authentic. This is fabulous. It is so creamy and mild, and my husband is glad that I don't smell like garlic! The cumin gives it a good flavor and I added just a dash of cayenne to give a little kick. Cooking the dry beans instead of using canned also makes this a much fresher tasting dish. Thanks. Now if I could only find some fresh pita bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Great recipe. As an American, I was pretty skeptical about losing the garlic, but the result was a refreshing change of pace from the hummus I'm used to. I've even gotten lazy and used canned chickpeas with this. The result, while admittedly not as good, was still quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This is SUCH a great alternative to the garlic-laden recipes I've had and made in the past! THANK YOU! This was really great rolled up in lavash bread with spring greens and a drizzle of olive oil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This is the best hummus! It's creamy and flavorful, and my husband loves it, usually hummus has too much garlic for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I was craving good hummus and this was easy to make. I used 2 15 oz. cans of garbanzo beans drained and rinsed. I added about 6 cloves of minced garlic and ended up adding abaout 1/2 cup warm water total and a little more than 1/2 cup of evoo and this gave it just the right consistency. Otherwise I followed the rest of the directions. My daughters loved it. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
The perfect hummus recipe! Thanks for posting this recipe. This hummus was very creamy and delicious. I followed the exact recipe except that I used canned chickpeas instead of fresh. I used one can of chickpeas, reserving half of the liquid in the can to use in the hummus. I also halved the rest of the ingredients, but used only 1/3 cup of the tahini. Very yummy. If you like garlic, go ahead and add a few cloves, but I found that this recipe doesn't need the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Delicious!!! For the Americans who can't do without garlic here is another way to add it without overpowering your hummus with it: In the last 5 minutes of your boiling water with beans add some whole cloves of garlic in the water and let them boil with your beans. Add them in the blender with the rest of your ingredients, and bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Photo by Gitana
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I'm Arab. This recipe was good except for the lack of garlic and thickness. Now if you don't like garlic, then you'd like this. But if you do then it's almost essential in hummus. Add some water to water it down a bit or you might have to eat it with a knife and fork! Overall, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Takes a while to get over the garlic hummus but this tastes fabulous with pita. In fact, I cooked up a fabulous dish with chummus and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States