Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Absolutly Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
The texture is amazing. Absolutely genuine flavors however when cooking my beans I threw in a couple crushed garlic cloves that kicked up the flavor just enough to give a plain cracker some taste if you're not eating it with pita bread. Goes great with apples, pretzels, bagel, sandwich spread EVERYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is really authentic!! I had made a recipe for hummus from the Austin Spa that just didn't taste good at all - so I was cautious about trying my hand at this again. I didn't alter the recipe at all and we really liked it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Takes a while to get over the garlic hummus but this tastes fabulous with pita. In fact, I cooked up a fabulous dish with chummus and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitana
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I'm Arab. This recipe was good except for the lack of garlic and thickness. Now if you don't like garlic, then you'd like this. But if you do then it's almost essential in hummus. Add some water to water it down a bit or you might have to eat it with a knife and fork! Overall, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Delicious!!! For the Americans who can't do without garlic here is another way to add it without overpowering your hummus with it: In the last 5 minutes of your boiling water with beans add some whole cloves of garlic in the water and let them boil with your beans. Add them in the blender with the rest of your ingredients, and bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
The perfect hummus recipe! Thanks for posting this recipe. This hummus was very creamy and delicious. I followed the exact recipe except that I used canned chickpeas instead of fresh. I used one can of chickpeas, reserving half of the liquid in the can to use in the hummus. I also halved the rest of the ingredients, but used only 1/3 cup of the tahini. Very yummy. If you like garlic, go ahead and add a few cloves, but I found that this recipe doesn't need the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I was craving good hummus and this was easy to make. I used 2 15 oz. cans of garbanzo beans drained and rinsed. I added about 6 cloves of minced garlic and ended up adding abaout 1/2 cup warm water total and a little more than 1/2 cup of evoo and this gave it just the right consistency. Otherwise I followed the rest of the directions. My daughters loved it. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This is the best hummus! It's creamy and flavorful, and my husband loves it, usually hummus has too much garlic for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This is SUCH a great alternative to the garlic-laden recipes I've had and made in the past! THANK YOU! This was really great rolled up in lavash bread with spring greens and a drizzle of olive oil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States