Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The recipe is a good basic hummous. I like to put a bay leaf in when I cook the beans (never canned). Its actually traditional to serve additional tehina (diluted with water to form a sauce) on top of the hummous, with olive oil and colorful spices such as paprika for decoration. Many people also garnish with olives, hot sauce, or if you want to make a meal out of it, ful (cooked fava beans). ps Hummous is not low quality Italian food where you douse it with garlic. It should convey the creamy nutty flavor of chickpeas and sesame. Just a bit is good imho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I couldn't help myself, had to add garlic. The taste is fantasitc. It killed my blender though :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I love store bought hummus and was dissapointed after all the extra work that I put into this recipe that it did not taste anything like the store bought kind. It took a whole morning to cook the beans, and unfortunately for me, I made enough for an army. The texture was much too course and it wasn't creamy like the store bought kind. Also, there were lots of chick pea skins that did not get thoroughly chopped that made it pretty gritty. It does freeze well, however, be warned that once you get it out of the freezer, it can only be kept in the fridge for about a week without ggoing bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe and very authentic. I am Lebanese and the cumin makes it much more like the genuine hummus I had as a kid. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was delicious. I halved the recipe but made it as written and we think it's great! In addition to sprinkling cumin, we also sprinkled some chili pepper powder on. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Yum, yum, YUM! This was absolutely perfect, a faithful version of real hummus. I only wish I'd frozen half (or more), as this does make a HUGE amount. Love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Every middle easterner knows hummus isn't real hummus without garlic, it's essential. Mince a few cloves to this recipe and you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was a good recipe yet it definitely was more simple as far as flavor goes. So, this recipe is perfect if thats what you are looking for. When I made it I found that it really had a tahini nutty kick to it, so continually adding lemon juice to taste was KEY, as well as adding salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Absolutely the BEST hummus I've ever tasted! No alterations made. Took the author's suggestion of adding lemon juice according to one's preference. I'll definitely make this again! However, I would use a food processor instead of the blender. (on the garlic comment-when I have been to any Mediterranean restaurants, no garlic is added to the hummus)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I loved it. I always use a little less lemon juice and then have some on the side for those who like more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brennasma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States