Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I also add 2-3 cloves of garlic which has been caramelized (rather than raw) and 1/2 Tbsp fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is almost the same recipe I have used for years. Shown how to make by a friend as my family members did not make this. Home cooked beans are far superior to canned and much more economical. Homemade hummus (or just about anything homemade for that matter) is superior to any pre-made full of preservative thing you buy at the store. To those of you who have commented that the texture is coarse, either your beans are not cooked enough and/or you have not blended the hummus long enough, at 5 minutes in my high powered blender it is smooth, silky and fluffy. Blend, puree or process until you have the correct texture! Cumin is an authentic Near and Middle Eastern seasoning, garlic if used it is just a whisper. Remember this is not an American grocery store clone. This is the real stuff, probably a recipe passed from an elder relative to a younger one, including the most special ingredient of all, love! So if you must, add the whole bulb of garlic, roasted red pepper or a hot pepper or two, more or less tahini and lemon juice or whatever else you want to, make it with love and then it will be authentic to you and your family. Oh I almost forgot, my favorite way to eat it is warm on freshly baked, homemade pita bread or soft lavosh, some nice salty cured olives on the side! Yum!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made four hummus recipes yesterday and this one was almost unanimously chosen as the least favorite. Choose the Extra Easy Hummus or the Authentic Kicked-up Syrian hummus instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I made this recipe without any changes except that my family loves loves loves garlic so we added a lot and it was great. I will never again buy it from the store, and will always always use this recipe! great for veggies, crackers, and pita. we LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I really liked it. Dried garbanzo beans are a lot less expensive so I was happy to find a recipe that explained how to cook them. Personally I like garlic so I added quite a bit. Also used cumin seeds since that's what I had on hand. Great recipe. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I'm the author of the recipe. Add as much garlic as you like. In the USA, you may need more than specified in the recipe since the garlic here in Israel is incredibly strong and potent. To the person who "knows" authentic chummus b/c you ate it at a few restaurants in Israel and Greece... um, well, which restaurants? Because unless you were eating in a restaurant that specialized in chummus, you were eating industrialized chummus--which is kind of like eating spaghetti at Sabarro (sp?) and saying that you know authentic Italian cuisine. Chummus is an art here and you've got to know where to go to find the good stuff. I'm not saying this recipe parallels Abu Chasan or Bahadonas, but for homemade chummus, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was wonderful first time making very easy and I did follow directions exact.I maybe stupid but when some others say followed recipe exact but added,ha ha ha excuse me but not exact.and simone specifically said that dry garbanzo is what makes the difference do not use cann chick peas.then reviewer says oh a short cut use cann chick peas OMG REALLY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was simple and easy to make - And WOW did it make a LOT - but a little bland for my tastes. I prepared as directed but added garlic while boiling, a little more than 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice and sea salt. Rather than top with olive oil, I lightly dusted it with paprika (wish I would have had smoked) and it turned out great. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I liked the hummus and found it yummy with homemade pita chips. However, this is not a blender recipe. You need a food processer. And I found the olive oil a bit overpowering. Fresh, high quality olive oil is essential. Maybe mine wasn't fresh enough, or high quality enough. And I didn't end up using it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
SUPER YUMMY!! I just got back from a trip to the Middle East and had to try to replicate the amazing hummus I experienced while I was there. This recipe is not only easy, it is GREAT! I was hungry so I used organic canned beans, but the result was so good I can only imagine how awesome it would be with freshly cooked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States