Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus (Chummus) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I love this recipe and it is very similar to the recipe given to me by the local restaurant although a they use a little more cumin and garlic. Not a fan of chilli myself but many people here add a little chilli powder just before serving. As we have lived in Greece for the last seven years, I do not understand the comment from Robin H that it is not authentic. Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I have made authentic Hummus for 30+ years and it does not and never should have oil IN the recipe nor does it have cumin in it (although some do add it as a personal preference). The oil goes on TOP after it is plated. If you find the texture too course just cook the beans a little longer and process a little longer as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This hummus was different than others I have tried. It didnt have that salty canned bean after taste. I made 1/2 recipe and it really does make a TON! I am not a big fan of hummus, but had some dried chickpeas and soybeans I bought some time ago for a recipe I never made. The mix was mostly chickpeas, so I decided to try this. I cooked them with a carrot, small onion, and a 1/2 packet no sodium broth powder. I reserved 1/4 cup of the broth and used that. The vegetables were non detectable in the hummus. Instead of the dip being thick and pasty, it had a whipped airy texture. Note, have a very strong food processor or blender, because there is a lot of dip to blend. It did thicken up some after 24 hour refrigeration. I stirred in a little olive and garlic salt and served with Cedar brand flat bread. This was the freshest tasting hummus I have ever tried. I am not a big hummus eater, but would recommend this recipe to anyone wanting a recipe for hummus that has more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
It was a good recipe, I thought I could get away without skinning the chickpeas, as it is pretty tedious work, and I thought maybe the baking soda would help disintegrate the skin, as I've read, but really I just know the end taste of Hummus where the skins have been removed and where the skins haven't... This recipe would be even better if the skins were peeled, also, not sure what the cumin added, never used it before, and couldn't really pinpoint if it was actually needed at all..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
THANK YOU for providing an authentic hummus recipe that does not used canned beans! I thought I would have to look elsewhere for a good recipe since it seemed that every one on this site was using canned chickpeas. This is a delicious hummus as written but can absolutely be adjusted with whatever spices/ingredients you wish to add to make it your own. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Quigley Bailif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The secret is the cooked and NOT CANNED garbanzo beans. What I did was cook 6 cups of dried garbanzo beans, used half and stored the rest in the fridge (or I could have used the freezer but this recipe turned so good that I will soon make some more). By the evening only about a tablespoon was left cause I was so happy with how it turned, I shared most of it with friends, family and neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fotini Tufte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Best Hummus ever. I have lived, and eaten hummus all around the Middle East and I can't find better than this recipe. Hint use plenty lemon and garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Ive been trying several hummus recipes for the last year or so and I finally found the one.. I tweaked the lemon and garlic amounts a little bit to my taste but this recipe is spot on. Thank you! To the author of the recipe: It sounds like you know your stuff and Im wondering if you have any suggestions on things to add. Im not sure if its the american version of hummus that adds things such as roasted peppers, sun dried tomatoes, etc. but I would love to hear any suggestions from someone who really knows the culture. Please let me know!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I'm native Windsor, On and was raised around middle eastern familys i always loved getting home made Hummus from friends and from arabic home style restraunts when i moved away from all these arabic people i was deprived from a good authentic hummus on many occasions my family tried making our own but never ended up like this one thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Gray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
So simple, so tasty. If cumin isn't your thing, then don't add it. Still a great foundation for subtle variations. I added a couple tablespoons of hemp hearts for protein with a mild pine nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States