Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
These were easy to make and pretty good, but not my favorite tortilla recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
The alleged tortillas come out tasting like pastry shells and get super hard 15 minutes after cooking them. I have never made a tortilla recipe using shortening and never will again. Find a recipe without shortening and use one with milk. You'll thank me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Carvelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Honestly terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This recipe was WAY too flaky, tasty but fell apart while trying to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I wonder if this recipe calls for too much shortening. The tortillas I made were more like flat biscuits, in that they were not pliable and were very flaky. They tasted great, and my boyfriend loved them - although he kept calling it flatbread and we had to use them for "open-faced tortillas" because we couldn't bend them without breaking them. Another reviewer suggested Esther Nelson's recipe, and I agree that it was better (the recipe is exactly the same, except hers calls for only 2 tablespoons of shortening).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I've tried several tortilla recipes and this one is my last stop, no need to look any futher! Perfect! I used organic palm shortening and I think that and the hot water makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I followed the direction exactly and I think they come out to oily. Next time I make them I will reduce the amount or shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Boy oh boy, did I have the measurements wrong! I have been making tortillas all my life but they have never come out exactly right. Turns out this recipe was just the ticket for perfect tortillas. The only thing I changed was using "butter flavored" Crisco instead of lard. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Mastillo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I have not tried this recipe as it is very similar to the recipe I grew watching my mom & dad make. The only difference istead of lard or shorting they used bacon fat less than the amount of shorting called for in this recipe about 2 tablespoons per cup of flour and they are out of this world!!! Bulldogg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States