Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
this is a good recipe, but no matter how thin I rolled the dough, the cakes puffed up a little more than I like. I watched them like I hawk on the griddle, only letting them brown for about 30 seconds each. Modifications: I reduced the baking powder to 1/2 tsp, and added a Tbsp of shortening. I think I'll try omitting the BP all together next time since this does make the dough a little heavier. All in all, the tortillas pleased my family, and they were very easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebrenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These tortillas where "ok" they tasted more like pie crust then a real authentic tortilla, and I live 10 minuets from the mexican border in san diego, so I know how a real authentic tortilla is supposed to taste...My family did enjoy them though, and they where easy and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Top_Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
These are not authentic at all! Like other reviews said, it tastes a lot like a pie crust and are a bit on the non-pliable side-even when heated over the flame of the stove. I went and read Jamie's (recipe submitter) DRASTIC changes to this recipe since she said the original recipe submission wasnt given much thought as far as the measurements go, with the 1/3 C. of shortening she says to use instead of 3/4 C., they tasted like pie crust and I cant imagine 3/4 C. shortening being any better. Normally I dont give low reviews but I was really disappointed with this one. It's gets a star for effort, but my search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Good, easy recipe! As a little girl, I watched my mom make tortillas time and time again, but she didn't use measuring cups or spoons, only her loving hands :) I tried, but could never master the right amounts and my tortillas would come out hard. I followed this recipe exactly and used water that was just on the brink of boiling, I don't think the shortening would have melted properly had I used hot tap water. Finally I can make my own tortillas, and my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very very good. As per suggestions from other reviewers, I used two tablespoons of shortening per cup of flour. They were fantastic! A keeper of a recipe, for sure. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I usually use another recipe but couldn't find it last night so found and used this one. It has more shortening than I am used to using but they turned out great and everyone enjoyed these tortillas very much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
these cam out great the people who say it didnt must have done something wrong will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pothead81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
they were fine. Not the best but fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I agree with Mommy of Five the butter flavor shortening works really well and the other review they must be kept moist due to the fact they are fresh and dont have all of the preservatives that you find in the store my husband will not eat store bought anymore...and these are much healthier due to the fact YOU have control of what goes in it. Once you make these your family will never want store bought again. Happy Cooking everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Gros

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
bland. difficult to roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States