Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe was OKAY I would use 1 tsp Salt next time. 2 Tsp. makes it too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
my husband is mexican and he says they dont taste like his gandmother made...they were good when they were just off the cast iron griddle...then later they were chewy...not sure if i did somthing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
super easy, and really good. i used butter instead of shortening (i mean, if you're going to use saturated fat, why not go with what nature will provide you with?), and they turned out great. so much better than store-bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These are not very authentic. As written they taste more like salty pie crust, there is simply too much shortening. Other recipes with a cup or more flour use less then half the shortening (but more water). On the plus side, they were very easy to roll out. But there are better options available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These tasted great but need an extra step. Freshly made tortillas should be placed in a tortilla keeper or similar enclosed space immediately from the skillet. This allows them to steam a bit and makes them softer. (I also used my food processor to mix the ingredients to make the flour & shortening really crumbly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I used my Cuisinart Food Processor to mix the dough. I used 3 3/4 cups of flour, 2 tsps. of baking powder, 1 tsp. of salt, 1/3 cup of Crisco Shortening, and after pulsing 6 times, added 1 1/3 cups of HOT WATER. Pulsed until it came into a ball. Took out of processor and kneaded about 5 times. Let rest for about 10-15 minutes. Made into 13 balls and rolled each one out. Put on cast iron griddle (comal) for about 15 seconds and flipped on other side to cook. Flipped again and removed from griddle (comal) and placed in paper toweled tortilla warmer. They came out perfect. This is my go to recipe from now on. Thank you for sharing. I used to make them all the time, but had no measurements. Just used my hand to measured all out. ( This is how I was taught as a young girl). And my flour tortillas were great then and delicious. Now I have the perfect recipe to use in the food processor. Thank you for the recipe. NOTE**** You can also use this same recipe to make sopapillas, or buenelos. Instead of placing raw tortilla on hot griddle, first you must use fork tines on rolled out raw tortilla, then place in about 1 inch or so of hot oil, keep an eye on tortilla, it will start to bubble, then flip over tortilla carefully and cook another few seconds to light golden brown. Drain on paper towels. You may then put cinnamon and sugar mixture on top. Very delicious. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I never made tortillas before and I found this recipe to be easy and the outcome was great. I used the suggested trick of a towell to keep them soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
First time I've made tortillas and I loved this recipe. It was simple and easy to follow. I'll be keeping this on hand for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This recipe works great! I used whole wheat flour, vegetable shortening and near-boiling water, and it made delicious tortillas. I will bookmark this for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Awesome! I made it healthier by substituting 1 1/2 of the flour with whole wheat flour and adding sunflower oil instead of shortening. Great, I am pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States