Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
not good. !!! Too salty , too flaky for our authentic mexican taste!!! I reduced the salt to 1 tsp, replaced the lard for canola oil 1/3 cup .. lard works also reduced to 2 Tb...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I can say that these LOOKED pretty and I was happy with the results until I ate them. Followed the recipe exactly. These tasted too much like pie crusts. They either have too much flour in this recipe or too much shortening. Kept them warm with a towel in a zip lock bag and they were still tough and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This recipe has good flavor but to me it taste more like a biscuit not a tortilla I dont think I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emerilett16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I've made this recipe twice now -- once exactly as the directions specified, and once where I substituted 1/4 cup of the shortening for sunflower oil and didn't allow the dough to cool before rolling it out. While it tasted great both times, the consistency and ease of making the tortillas vastly improved with the veggie oil substitution. Overall, a great basic recipe. These are definitely becoming a staple in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
We make this recipe at least once a week. I love the homemade taste and how simple they are to put together. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mashbella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
they are great. made them twice so far. Except i put a lil sprinkle of garlic powder for extra tast :) my boyfriend likes to grab and eat them by themselves while i cook them because he cannot wait for dinner :) I will def make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
there is to much shortening for this recipe. It was to wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Good flavour, but very dry. Needs about twice as much water as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Amazing recipe!! However I would note that in order to get them extremely soft and pliable, use pre-creamed shortening. Using anything but will be opposite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
What a disappointment, It fell apart, too much baking powder & too much flour. I don't recommend this recipe at all, just go to the store & buy the tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States