Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I add a granulated garlic in dough ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DT011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Why did I ever buy them at the store? These things are so simple, fast and easy I will never buy again! I just leave the dough wrapped in plastic wrap in the fridge and cut off what I need, roll it into a ball, roll in out and whamo. I have one with dinner every night and just love em! Thanks a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jpittman1972

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I added homemade taco seasoning to the wraps and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
These tortillas are great! My sister's fiance' is half Mexican and he says they taste just like his grandma use to make in Mexico. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Spectacular recipe!! Thanks for sharing. This one was so good my family begs me to make the tortillas whenever we have taco nights rather than buy them from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
These were easy to make, but reminded me of biscuits. With that, the kids loved the biscuit taste. I would recommend cutting the salt down to 1/2 tsp as the tortillas were a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
You really need a press to get these to come out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This recipe is very good for pie crust (I actually used it to make apple pie after trying it for the tortillas three of four times). These tortillas come out much too stiff, and they are not the texture they should be. It has nothing to do with the thickness, I have made thick and thin tortillas with my grandmothers recipe and they were perfectly pliable. I suspect it has something to do with all the shortening. I have sucessfully made tortillas using a different recipe since, and I only used a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Shortening amount is excessive for an "authentic" tortilla. My family emjoys Mexican fillings wrapped in a tasty tortilla, not pie pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I found this recipe when I couldn't find my old stand by, and I think I prefer this one. The visual cues were helpful. I did end up added a bit more shortening, and didn't put quite the whole volume of water in. The consistency of the dough was just right to roll, without it trying to spring back on me. The key to cooking these is not letting them cook for too long. My first couple were very brittle. After reading some of the reviews I noted the hint that over cooking can have this effect. (Because you cook too much of the water out.) I tried again with the rest of the dough, and they turned out fantastically. May try adding a bit more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States