Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
You really need a press to get these to come out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This recipe is very good for pie crust (I actually used it to make apple pie after trying it for the tortillas three of four times). These tortillas come out much too stiff, and they are not the texture they should be. It has nothing to do with the thickness, I have made thick and thin tortillas with my grandmothers recipe and they were perfectly pliable. I suspect it has something to do with all the shortening. I have sucessfully made tortillas using a different recipe since, and I only used a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Shortening amount is excessive for an "authentic" tortilla. My family emjoys Mexican fillings wrapped in a tasty tortilla, not pie pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I found this recipe when I couldn't find my old stand by, and I think I prefer this one. The visual cues were helpful. I did end up added a bit more shortening, and didn't put quite the whole volume of water in. The consistency of the dough was just right to roll, without it trying to spring back on me. The key to cooking these is not letting them cook for too long. My first couple were very brittle. After reading some of the reviews I noted the hint that over cooking can have this effect. (Because you cook too much of the water out.) I tried again with the rest of the dough, and they turned out fantastically. May try adding a bit more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Turned out great.. I knew it would be more flaky and taste fresh compared to store bought.. 1 tip if I may, I used a small saucer to cut into perfect round shapes . Made it alot easier for me anyways... Good eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Too much salt! Should use apprx 1 teaspoon instead of 2...to make it AUTHENTIC use LARD (like Morrel's) NOT shortening or oil....shortening or oil will make Tortilla hard and cracky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Very easy to make. I accidentally used way too much water, but was able to compensate by adding flour until it looked more like dough ( I cut the recipe in half, but misread the water portion). Anyway they turned out great! I used a tortilla press and a tortilla warmer that had been gathering dust in my cabinet. Worked great! Next time I'll pay more attention to the recipe directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I grew up watching my mom and grandmother make tortillas. Same ingrediants and no receipe. I must say these are extremely salty, uneasy to roll out and flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Just made these and love them! Pliable, thin and every tortilla puffed perfectly every time. It was extremely satisfying. They are a little salty for my taste, but my husband will be in heaven. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
not good. !!! Too salty , too flaky for our authentic mexican taste!!! I reduced the salt to 1 tsp, replaced the lard for canola oil 1/3 cup .. lard works also reduced to 2 Tb...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States