Authentic Mexican Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Everyone! When I first submitted my recipe, like 10 years ago, I did it for a computer class in college and had to hurry up and finish it without really giving it much thought. SO - just change the ingredients like this and they will be awesome!! 3 Cups all-purpose flour, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 2 tsp. salt, 1/3 cup shortening/lard, and 1 1/4 cup HOT water. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These where the best tortillas I have ever made. The only thing I changed was I used half weat flour and half white, and they turned out great! U could bend them in half with out breaking and the flavor was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jzart
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These were much better than the lousy ones from the stores. Plus they don't cost anything really to make, just a little bit of time. Will always make these when making something with tortilla shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jzart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I have made flour torillas before but I had never used shortening. These turned out pretty good but not great. I had problems with them breaking when made into enchilladas even though they were wrapped in towels and hot. These seemed a little too much like pie crust but they did have a nice homemade flavor and butter flavor from the shortening. Over all we enjoyed them but next time I will try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
These are awesome!! Fluffy, easy, and just amazing. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I tried this recipe the other day for my husband, who was raised with homemade tortillas, and he absolutely loved them. I just made a change of adding about a tablespoon of butter to give them a buttery flavor and they were perfect. They were easy to make and I recommend this recipe for anybody trying to make homemade tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
These leave a powdery texture in your mouth. They are bland and this recipie is almost exactly like my pasta recipie. If I tried again I would leave out the baking powder. Tortillas are supposed to be thin, I don't think leavening is necessary. Mine were as thick as a cracker no matter how hard I rolled them out. Halfway through I stopped and added more shortening so they would be easier to work with and that helped a little but they still were not as good as I was hoping for. As a woman who married into a hispanic family this will never fly in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miliani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Huachuca City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These are excellent, hard to roll thin, but great! They are better a little undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I fed this to about the most picky group of kids, 12 daycare kids from all different walks of life, each child asked for more! they were super great! i ran low on shortning so i substitued butter and it was so perfect and authentic! i will be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States