Authentic Mexican Shrimp Cocktail (Coctel de Camarones estilo Mexicano) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Delicious! This had just the right amount of "burn" for my taste. I boiled the shrimp according to Chef John's recipe, so they were very tasty on their own. I marinated the ingredients over night, adding the shrimp & avocado about 6 hours before serving. I used low sodium V-8, as I didn't have the clam-based stuff, and added more than instructed to make mine a little "soupier". This is the only way to have shrimp cocktail, IMHO, when you've got avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I loved it! it was easy to make. I used red onion and baby shrimp instead. Every one thought it was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Villanueva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Just made it - SO YUM!!!! This being my first time making it, I stuck pretty close to the recipe. Just used 1.5 tomatoes, not a full bunch of cilantro and a regular red onion. Saved the avocados for the side since my hubby doesn't care for them. Chilled for an hour (which I think makes a HUGE difference) and tried it - I didn't need to tweak it at all!! THANK YOU for this recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa Ackerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Abodolutely delicious thanks!!! I just made 1 change and it was that I added the juice of 3 oranges and it become perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
i love cocteles, so ive been on the hunt for the best of such recipes for a while now. i found this one pretty disappointing. on the plus side, its fresh and light, and creamy avocado goes so nicely with a spicey, choppy prawn mix. unfortunately, it didnt have the horseradish flavour i've come to consider standard, and instead was overpowered by the crunch and flavour of the celery. a bit of celery flavour is nice for the "fresh" flavour, but id rather the kick come from horseradish and chillis than celery crunch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I have made several times and it is always a hit! It's great for parties and for a dinner with my husband! I omitted the celery, but otherwise made no changes. Thanks for the great authentic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
So easy to make and so delicious! Absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My BF use 2 Cucumbers instead of 1 as well. Try the Picante Clamato next time for a great kick! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
So delicious! Tastes just like the cocteles I have at Mexican restaurants. The best thing is that you can modify it any way you want. I don't need to add the salt and pepper. Also, save the avocados until you're ready to eat. Otherwise great easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosario

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States