Authentic Mexican Shrimp Cocktail (Coctel de Camarones estilo Mexicano) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was my first time ever making Mexican Shrimp Cocktail, my Mexican boyfriend requested it. I doubled the Clamato, added 1/2 cup of onion instead of 1/3 cup, and added 1 clove minced garlic. It was success!! Him & his friend devoured the whole thing in one sitting. Served with saltine crackers, extra lime & extra avocado on the side. Thank u Thank u!!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catalina Amber Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Great authentic recipe! I add a little shrimp water (water used to boil shrimp) to the mix as well. Try it with picante Clamato next time for added flavor. Thanks for such a refreshing recipe. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Ricardo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by MamaButterfly
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I love the freshness of this Ceviché! I made a few changes to the recipe in that I used less than 1 tsp of the recommended 2 tsps of salt(that is alot!) I also used low sodium Heinz ketchup. I used 2 jalapeno peppers and also added a tablespoon of horseradish. Although many comments say how great this recipe is for the summer, I have prepared this for a Christmas party serving it with the Tostito Scoops. The colours in this preparation are perfect for the season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaButterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Made this recipe for a New Years Eve party and it was the hit of the party! I plan to make it again and try some of the variations. My friends could not get enough of it. Good thing I had made a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Excellent! I've been wanting to duplicate this recipe for years. There's a market in East San Jose named Tropicana and they make the BEST Coctels de Camarones... now I can make them at home. I'm so excited to be able to do this myself now! My husband and son LOVED THEM tonight. Gracias Mexican Sweetheart, thank you for this recipe! I used everything listed and the shrimp water, and I had saltines with it, just PERFECT, just like Tropicanas! GRACIAS, GRACIAS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Being Mexican this dish is staple in our cuisine (especially during lent and summer)so naturally I had made this my own way for years. I tried this recipe today for the the first time and was wonderfully surprised with the outcome! The addition of the Clamato®, celery, and cucumber is the best idea ever! Thanks for the yummy upgrade to an already great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Loved it! My husband couldn't stop eating. However, I did not add the celery and cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
A friend of mine recently prepared a similar recipe for her book club. I tried it and it was delicious. I found this recipe and thought I would try it for Super Bowl Sunday as a "healthy" alternative to all the junk food being served. Absolutely LOVED it! It's very fresh tasting with all the chopped veggies in it. Be sure to dice all your ingredients...especially the jalapeno. It will make all the difference in the world. We served it with thin corn tortilla chips and saltine crackers. I personally preferred the saltines. They made the flavors really shine. I will absolutely will make this again. I'm looking forward to serving it on the back patio this summer with some refreshing sangria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Delicious!!!!!!! I'm definitely saving this recipe! I can't stop eating it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipe is great as is. I also make this a lot during the summer. I use all above ingredients and also use the shrimp stock that I end up with after cooking my shrimp. I don't add the lime juice, hot sauce or jalapeño to the cocktail- I usually serve these on the side so my family can add to their taste. Serve with tortilla chips- or saltine crackers... =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Avocado Shrimp Ceviche-Estillo Sarita

Watch how to make this Latin American favorite.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States