Authentic Mexican Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LUV2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I thought this was easy and tastey. I even left the skin on and used hatch peppers, if thats any different from New Mexico. Mine had the perfect amount of heat. I will make I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I would suggest when heating chilis in the pan to try to do that outside. We had too much chili in the air and were coughing like crazy, but we did use arbol chilis, which probably made fumes in the air
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Big BIG thanks for the helpful recipe. We no longer have to beg at Coronas or Tacos Por Favor!!! We mixed and matched as you suggested and slugged it outta the park on the first go! Oh happy days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This has no heat to speak of so I don't know why it's called a "hot" sauce. Try using a few arbols if you can find them or even roast a serrano, removing the seeds if you don't want too much heat. I also eliminated the brown sugar altogether (it detracted from the tang of the vinegar that is characteristic of a good hot sauce) and reduced the cumin to 3/4 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Just joined this was my first try I must say this is too runny, but good flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great flavor! But no heat. Definitely needs to be thicker. Will try to adjust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is pretty good sauce. It was easy to make. I didn't have the guajillo chile so I subbed a chipotle. It gave it a nice smoky flavor. I just read that you suggested an arbol chile for heat. I have those. I will have to make again to try with the arbols. Interesting sauce. Would like it a little thicker though. Going to play with the recipe now that I've tried it the way you posted it. Thanks for a nice hot sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Great hot sauce. I didn't have quite enough cumin, so used only 3/4 tsp., but everything else was the same. I did add the optional lime. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States