Authentic Mexican Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Yum! A co-worker of mine is of Mexican descent and he shared a secret with me. As many others have done, try subbing Queso Chihuahua cheese for the "guts" of your enchiladas. This cheese melts extremely well, but you need to pop your rolled enchiladas in the oven for a few minutes to get the melty, ooey-gooey effect. Now, about the recipe. It's a little vague. I too was confused about the sauce. I ended up adding the full 3/4 c. of water called for to my pot of chiles (de arbol) and simmering as directed. I covered my pan to help minimize evaporation and then added all of the liquid, chiles, salt and garlic to my blender (FYI, this sauce is perfect as is - there's no need to add anything else to it). NOTE: I did not find it messy or difficult to fry my sauce dipped tortillas and am glad I didn't wait until they were fried to dip them. I did have to fry for a tad longer than called for, but it all worked out in the end. My only regret is that I didn't have any sauce left to drizzle over my enchiladas (it was THAT good!). :( Topping these babies with Queso Fresco Mexican crema, lettuce, (chopped) tomato and green onion really hit the spot. Mexican rice and refried beans rounded out our authentic meal. All I can say is this was one FANTASTIC meal. Thanks for sharing your MIL's recipe, Becky! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Nice change from Tex-Mex style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Okay, i LOVED the taste!! But, here are some things that i can say as i´m in mexico and i eat enchiladas once a week in a traditional cocina economica: the chiles doen´t really need to be drained, they are ok with the water, also, you can try them filled with chicken, they taste even better! and they also could not be fried, taste is better and they´re lighter. try it, fill them with chicken, you won´t regret!! But the real enchiladas are just topped with queso fresco and onion. i´ve never seen here in mexico an enchilada topped with lettuce and tomato. THESE ENCHILADAS ARE STILL TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Thank you for posting a recipe for AUTHENTIC Mexican enchiladas! I did cheat and use a store bought sauce....I saw that Frontera released a line of enchilada sauces and couldn't resist, as their stuff is pretty good and I kind of love Rick Bayless. :) Anyway, I dipped the tortillas in oil, then sauce (which was warming in a pan) and immediately rolled them up with a little bit of cheese. After they were all done, I heated a skillet sprayed with Pam and re heated 4 of the enchiladas at a time on both sides and then melted some cheese on top by putting the lip on the skillet. This is how one of the local Mexican restaurants serves them and I love how crispy the bottom gets and how melty the cheese gets. Delicious. Can't wait to try the homemade sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
THIS is exactly what I was looking for, how to make the sauce. That's the kind of sauce I used to do back in Mexico, personally I love filling them with chicken/potato/carrot mix but this is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I like this recipe but for the health conscious I would say you can bypass the frying the tortilla part...It doesn't really help the sauce stay on the tortilla too much and it just adds fat. You can just heat the tortillas up on a skillet or microwave to get them tender and then soak in the sauce. Frying it does add crispiness but if you want this dish to be healthier, skip the frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Delicious! I wasnt sure if they are supposed to be crispy or not when you fry them. Mine came out a bit soggy, but none the less very good. Next time i will just heat them in the pan without oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
The tortillas are very tasty! Dip in the oil first and then the sauce to avoid splattering oil. For a little extra taste, we added a small amount of chorrizo. We also put it in the oven for about 10 minutes after rolling them to help melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I like these enchiladas. Everything was good except I used more chilis, 8 or 9 chili de arbol for every 12 tortillas. I also left a bit of the water from the pan. other that that these are authentic and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Love the sauce! I'm on my second batch and I've been using it everywhere you'd use hot sauce! Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States