Authentic Mexican Chili Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Hmmmm...kind of flavorless and super messy to make with that egg fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is similar to my version passed down from my haram mother who was half Mexican & half Italian. However, I use monterey jack cheese. Do not use pepper jack. It does not melt and turns out goopy. I also dust with a little salt and granulated garlic before serving with my own red sauce. These freeze weal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Good recipe. Similar to one that I have used for years. I have always used Jack cheese, either pepper jack or plain. Cotija is a bit too salty and doesn't melt well. Cheddar is too ordinary as is Colby. Queso Quesadilla is the best of the Mexican cheeses. Cheese for Rillenos must melt well. and add a bit of character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
So goodi put homemade tomato juice mixed with salsa and put some over the top it gave it a great kick off flavor. My favorite side with this is Spanish style rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: Salem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I happen to love poblano peppers so I went against a few reviewers since we can't get hatch peppers in my area. I have also made this with anaheims and it was almost as good. I have used queso blanco, the crumbling kind, as well as the smooth melting kind. I like the texture of the smoother one better but love the taste of the crumbling kind better. Also, took the advice of one person the second time I made them and removed the seeds prior to roasting and it makes a huge difference in how easy that step was...much easier to remove the seeds ahead of time. Also, tried the suggestion about putting some batter in the oil and then laying the pepper on top and using a spatula to surround the pepper with the batter...didn't have too good of a success with that method. It may just take some practice if I want to do that again. The taste of this food is just so good and exactly what I was looking for. All the Mexican places in my area use the frozen kind and I wanted fresh ones with the awesome batter and not the kind that just encases the pepper in that thick oily batter...and this was it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I sometimes use hatch green chile, but my mother-in-law taught me to use poblano peppers, which I do most of the time. They are easier to stuff, being slightly larger and have a milder flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Great recipe! Just to add, I'm from Louisiana and will use any darn chili I want to. Authenticity is second to how it tastes here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It was so yummy. My Fiance loved it! He had never had chili rellenos before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is how my Mexican family has made chile rellenos for at least the last century. This is as real as it gets. I don't fry in shortening. Ive used vegetable oil and canola oil with beautiful Results. I use colby/jack cheese in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
We LOVED this recipe!! Wish I would have made more than 7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Best Mexican Turkey Chili

What's cooking in San Jose? Valerie makes a hearty Mexican-style turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States