Authentic Mexican Chili Rellenos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Excellent! I made a sauce to serve on the side with half canned stewed tomatoes seasoned with Mexican seasonings and half home made enchilada red sauce, complimented this nicely. If no queso, I used half cream cheese mixed with shredded 4-cheese Mexican cheeses but queso is preferred. Also I roasted poblano chilies. Where I live you have to use what's available. So happy to have this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made these with steps my Mom used to do. Take out the seeds before anything else! I used a small knife with curved blade to remove the top underside of the stem that holds the seeds. Once that's gone just shake the few the few loose ones. Do NOT rinse or you will have a wet limp mess! Put them in a large Ziploc bag instead and let them steam for a few minutes. The skin will come off much easier. Instead of dipping the pepper in the egg mixture, carefully lay a small portion of the batter in the oil and they lay the pepper on top. The mixture will spread out when you lay the pepper on it. Then add more to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very tasty! Our family doesn't rinse the chili either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Great recipe, used 3 eggs, pinch of salt, removed seeds before broiling. Hatch Green Chillis are fantastic, but you can't find them in Kentucky, so I used Anaheim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
First time trying to make these. I followed the recipe exactly and I was pleasantly surprised that they actually turned out as good as they did. I only read the other reviews today and I think I will skip the rinsing under cold water like one reviewer said and maybe experiment with other peppers and the batter could use some salt. I used the leftover batter to fry some zucchini. It turned out good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pat A
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Wow! Just WOW! I will recommend this recipe to all my friends. Too hot for my mom and daughter but I don't mind heheheheh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Van Diest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I used a poblano chili i prefer that taste and its milder in spice then the hatch (spicy) but not like a habanero. However the cheese was way to bold imho.Next time i will try mont. jack cheese. The cheese was too cheddary almost like velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Hmmmm...kind of flavorless and super messy to make with that egg fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is similar to my version passed down from my haram mother who was half Mexican & half Italian. However, I use monterey jack cheese. Do not use pepper jack. It does not melt and turns out goopy. I also dust with a little salt and granulated garlic before serving with my own red sauce. These freeze weal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Best Mexican Turkey Chili

What's cooking in San Jose? Valerie makes a hearty Mexican-style turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States