Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Fantastic! Easy to modify as you like, adding mushrooms, etc. But the kids love eggs and I love chorizo, and both of them together is a hit for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOSIERENVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Made these for guests at my home yesterday after a long night of Santarchy. They didn't have any ground chorizo at the store I went to, so I bought sausages and cut them open to get the ground pork out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I have been dating a Mexican for three years and when we go out for breakfast on the weekends, we always get chorizo and eggs. This was just as good as the dish at the restaurant we always visit (or even better if you can get homemade tortillas from a local tienda). While every Mexican I've met does eat store-bought sauce as well as homemade, I'd suggest Cholula hot sauce because I think it tastes richer than Tabasco. I'd also add some diced tomatoes and skip the cheese (Americanized but still tasty, I guess). Try it with some whole or refried black beans and you've got a perfect breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I didn't have chorizo or any sausage on hand, but had left-over taco meat, so I used that. It tasted great and was a great way to use up left-overs. Also sauteed some onions before cooking the eggs, per other reviewers. Very yummy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great recipe! I already had some mexi shredded chicken on hand, so I used that instead of chorizo. I can't wait to try that with it. Very tasty! I'm always looking for good, easy breakfasts and this fits the bill! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Just reading this recipe brings back wonderful memories. My great grandmother used to serve us something very similar minus the cheese (she was from Mexico and very emphatically anti-cheese) with added diced, fried potatoes and served with re-heated pinto beans and homemade tortillas. I can't even begin to describe the taste. She mixed the chorizo, eggs and potatoes together, piled into the tortilla and we had the beans on the side. A more perfect combination has yet to be thought of. Try this recipe, you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
we had these tacos for dinner tonight and my husband and i both thought they were excellent. I added sauteed onion, red pepper and mushrooms. I used the flour tortilas and although i thought they were fantastic i will try the corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
My family loves this recipe for a quick breakfast option. My left-over-crazy husband and son even love ALL(including the eggs) of this warmed up a second morning if we had too many leftovers. I, being a purist, love it freshly made above all else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This is very similar to what I grew up with, and what I have been cooking for years. Try making your own chorizo, several good ones here on Allrecipies. I don't like the ingredients listed in the store bought (questionable to my stomach) and way to greasy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyuggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plummer, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was good, but very messy. Perhaps I will actually fry the tortillas next time until they are crisp before I top them with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States