Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Cajun-country reviewer here to say this is about as authentic as it gets, though technically a Cajun home cook doesn't use recipes or measurements. According to Louisiana tradition this would be served on a Monday -- supposedly an easy meal for laundry day because of the simmering time -- accompanied by sweet, plain, or cracklin' cornbread and a glass of iced sweet tea. Practically speaking, it's a tasty & inexpensive any-day meal. Oh, and, andouille is a cajun sausage made in Louisiana & pretty common in southeastern grocery stores; elsewhere, you might be able to find it in specialty stores or else ask if the manager of your grocery store can order it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
770 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
YES. but,, The other tradition is that a ham was served for Sunday dinner (OBTW Sunday dinner is served about 2:00 in the afternoon on Sunday) and on Monday morning the remaining ham and ham bone and all of the other ingredients were put into the pot at the same time and allowed to cook all day. The beans had to have been soaking overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I made some changes to this and maybe that's why I didn't like it. I used Cranberry beans instead of kidney beans and skipped the sausage since that's not available where I am and wanted to make it a vegetarian version. I added some salt and pepper. It was pretty sausy, which is good, but it just didn't have enough flavor. I won't make this again. I'll try some other rice and beans version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I made this recipe yesterday. The aroma was WONDERFUL. My mouth watered as it simmered away on the stove. I tasted the broth after it had cooked for an hour and decided it needed salt, so I added a tablespoon. Perfect. I cooked it for the time recommendations listed in the recipe, but when it was done, I felt it was overcooked. An hour and a half would have been sufficient, I think. NEXT TIME: I’ll use tiny red kidney beans instead of the standard (available in most grocery stores). I’ll dice the veggies and sausage and make it into a hearty soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This is the best! We enjoyed every spicy bite. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
There are as many recipes for red beans and rice as there are for spaghetti sauce, meaning you can tinker with the recipe to suit your tastes. A ham hock really adds flavor. When serving the beans over the rice I like to top them with a couple of spoonfuls of an onion salad recipe that comes from Leon Soniat, the former food editor of the N.O. Times Picayune (thinly slice two white onions, add 3 TB olive oil, 1 TB vinegar and some salt and pepper. Refrigerate)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Awesome recipe! Very authentic, and I'm from the south. I decreased the oil to 2 Tbl. to cut down on the fat, decreased the cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp. (just personal preference), and used the "Simple Cajun Seasoning" recipe found on this site. I cooked everything with the lid on for the first hour to keep the water from evaporating, then cooked 1 more hour with the lid off (2 hours total was perfect). I used turkey smoked sausage to, again, cut down on the fat (added the last 30 minutes of cooking). After cooking, I added 1 1/2 tsp. salt. The next time I made this, I was half asleep and used pinto beans when I should have used red beans - still came out great! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
My husband went to Tulane and he said this recipe was quite authentic! He recommended just giving it a couple extra hours simmering low on the stove. We used sweet italian sausage as not to scare off our daughter with the spiciness of the andouille, but had a bottle of Tabasco on the table to spice things up a bit if we wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Midway through cooking this recipe, I didn't think it was going to turn out well. However, with a little tweaking of the original recipe, it turned out great! The original recipe didn't indicate whether to simmer the beans covered or uncovered, so I did both. I covered the beans for about 2 hours, then cooked them uncovered. I cooked the beans about 30 minutes longer after adding the sausage, which ensured that the beans were fully cooked and soft. I also added about a tablespoon of salt. I would also recommend letting the beans cool a bit before serving - - it enhances the flavor and allows the sauce to thicken. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Very good! I did subsitute alot because I didn't have time! I used canned beans but it was very tasty! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DGPANDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States