Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is good stuff! I don't understand what some of the reviews mean when they complain that it's not authentic. It's authentic in every way. Perhaps one could specify Camellia brand red beans, but other than that .... ?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This recipe is so good. I found that it didn't need to simmer the full 2.5 hours, mine was done simmering in just under 2 hours. The flavor was so rich that my wife said she would enjoy it equally without the sausage (makes it healthy). Anyway, this is a very good recipe for people who enjoy flavorful food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I have made this twice and the family loved it!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipe was delicious! It turned out exactly the same as the red beans and rice we have at our local cajun restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I didn't rate this recipe as good as it is. It is a great rendition of red beans and rice just as written. I have made this recipe many times with great results. When I'm feeling lazy I use Miami Beaches base recipe with one significant change that many of you will likely discard. Instead of using EVOO, I use bacon drippings that occupy a spot on my kitchen counter. Not the healthiest choice but the flavor is there and that is the southern way - just exercise more:) Several Cajun dishes; gumbo, jambalaya, and red beans and rice, are so much better with a roux at it's base. Creating a roux adds an extra 45 minutes to this recipe, but it is worth the time and effort. This is the method I use when I want to "do it right". To modify the recipe as I have, modify step two with the following. You will need to add an extra 1.5 cups of water in step 3. For clarity, an additional step - "2a" - is added as well. 2. Mix 1/4 cup of bacon grease (or oil of choice) and 1/4 cup of all purpose flour in skillet. Cook, stirring constantly, over medium heat until the roux is mahogany brown in color. This will take 30-45 minutes! 2a. Add the celery, onion, garlic, and bell pepper to the roux and cook for 5 minutes. Continue with the steps Miami Beach outlined with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I'm from Louisiana ,and I have to say this is a very good recipe. The only thing I did different was to soak the beans over night. This will cut down on cooking time and make it a creamy consistency ( if cooked longer ) I also added a chicken stock ( bought over the counter by Knorr ) for added flavor .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Step 3: simmer covered, or uncovered?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I use canned beans and can reduce the cook time to 40 minutes. Also I use 1 and 1/4 cup of rice and add right after saute onions n peppers. No celery needed. Brown sausage separate n drain grease then add.10 mins before done I add 1 can diced or 2 to 3 fresh sliced maters. Add cilantro for a topper. Enjoy!!! Thats what I love about cooking. There's no wrong way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Yum, yum yum yum yummmmm. I typically buy the Zatran's Red Beans and Rice Mix. But this was great! Husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I'm a vegetarian, so I left out the sausage. I was worried it would lose so much flavor because of this, but it didn't! I just used a little extra seasoning and added a little tobasco sauce, and it was so yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States