Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Kristy ann
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Some extra tips from a southern woman, throw away any floating beans before cooking and dice your veggies as small as possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I'm from Colorado so hey can't say if its authentic but it is good. My only alteration was that I used caned beans, thanks Miami
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I made this the day before we ate it. So to keep it fresh, I separated the beans and sausage from the broth, and stored it in the refrigerator over night. The broth was a bit thicker than it was when fresh, But over all it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Trebble*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I made this using the cajun spice recipe from this site titled, "Cajun Spice Seasoning in a Jar" for my gluten free sister's birthday. I was able to find sauage that was also gluten free. Everyone at the party raved about the flavor, texture and how filling it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Just like home, thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anglica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Love this recipe! It came out so great and yummy. I am actually making this dish today. This will be my second time cooking this and I am looking forward to share this meal again with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
a little too spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Fills the house with a wonderful aroma. I had to omit the cayenne for the delicate northern palates in my house, but the andouille added a fair amount of zing. It's a great dish to make on a rainy Sunday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Delicious! I will be making this again! I could not find the right sausage (and I didn't want to waste time driving to different stores) so I just used Italian sausage, not as authentic, but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I give this recipe a double thumbs up! Every year I attend a homeowners meeting where there is a themed potluck dinner. This year it was a Cajun theme and I made this dish. Not only was this dish gone in a few minutes, but I had people asking if I had made more so they could have seconds. I used a combination of white and brown rice, use canned red beans as I had limited time and added just bit of chicken broth at the end of the cooking time as it seemed to be a bit dry - I may have had the heat too high while simmering. This is definitely a hit and will make it again and again - 5 stars!! DTCookin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States