Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I give this recipe a double thumbs up! Every year I attend a homeowners meeting where there is a themed potluck dinner. This year it was a Cajun theme and I made this dish. Not only was this dish gone in a few minutes, but I had people asking if I had made more so they could have seconds. I used a combination of white and brown rice, use canned red beans as I had limited time and added just bit of chicken broth at the end of the cooking time as it seemed to be a bit dry - I may have had the heat too high while simmering. This is definitely a hit and will make it again and again - 5 stars!! DTCookin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
it was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swanzetta E Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This is one of the best bean dishes I have ever tasted. I couldn't find the Andouille sausage so I just used 94% fat free turkey sausage and I used three large jalapenos instead of green pepper because of taste preferences. It was an amazing, flavorful dish. I can hardly wait to try making it with the Andouille sausage to see if it improves the flavor, but, honestly, I just don't think it possibly could. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This came out really good I added ham hock to the recipe and I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I liked it very much.best recipe used so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugar59
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
tried this one today. followed exactly except couldn't find the sausage so i used Hot Italian Sausage and maybe that was the problem. it was hot enough, but had no flavor. this was my first time eating it, and i hope to find a more flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Cox Richey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Yum-my!! SO good husband ate it all, I had only one serving..I will make again, maybe without the sausage. Deeeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
After trying and failing with many other Red Beans and Rice recipes, I finally found a great one! I always add a little extra andouille, use canned kidney beans instead of soaking them, and add some chopped jalapeno peppers along with the onion and peppers. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Spicy but really good! Makes a lot. Make sure you soak the beans in a large pot, as a small one will not make it through the night in terms of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States