Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
We cut back on the hot spices a bit as the sausage is also spicy. I like to add some ham to my red beans and rice, and I cut the sausage into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I've used it before. This time I didn't have andouille sausage, so I'm using Cajon style boudin(boudain).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Pretty much followed the directions exactly. I did add two Knorr chicken cubes to the 6 cups of water, and added the garlic with the sausage as someone else suggested. Oh and I didn't have any sage, and added about a half teaspoon of salt. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Great taste. I did add 2 or 3 smoked ham hocks. Then I cooked it long and slow. Probably not "Authentic", but it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Only gave 4 stars because I didn't exactly follow the recipe of HOW to cook this but I DID use the exact spices listed and it was fantastic! First off, I didn't have the bell pepper or sausage. I also replaced 4 cups of the water with home canned chicken stock. [Here's the method to my madness: 1)Sort red kidney beans and "soak" using (5 quart) PRESSURE COOKER (put beans into cooker with 4 cups of water, bring to pressure and cook 5 minutes, let cool naturally). 2)Meanwhile, cook "trinity" (onions, celery, garlic) in bacon grease instead of olive oil. 3)Once pressure cooker is depressurized, rinse beans with cold water. Return beans to cooker and add vegetables, chicken stock, water, and spices; stir. 4)Bring to a boil and lower heat to simmer, uncovered, for about 45 min-1 hour. 5)Steam rice while beans are finishing.] I thought the kids would think it was too spicy but it was just right for kids and myself. The hubby added more Tony's (Tony Chachere's Original Creole Seasoning) since he likes it a bit more on the spicy side. I think Frank's Red Hot Sauce or Tabasco would also be an awesome addition. This is going in the meal rotation for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Fantastic....added a bottle of beer and chicken stock to replace water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Love this....awesome with shrimp toooo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Fantastic! This recipe was just what I was looking for! A definite keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Loved this recipe!!! I changed it up to suit my "Okie" way of cooking. 1 1/4 teaspoons of dried oregano, 4 Tablespoons of Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning, 1 Tablespoon of dried parsley, 2 Tablespoons dried onion flakes, 2 Tablespoons minced garlic, 1 Tablespoon of salt, 1 teaspoon black pepper, 3-4 Tablespoons Knorr chicken flavor bouillon, 6 cups of water, 1 bag of beans soaked over night and big chunks of ham. Put it all in crock pot on high and cook till done. Mash 2-3 Tablespoons beans in cup and add back in crock pot for thicker beans. I fix a pot of white rice and sweet cornbread to go with the beans. Talk about A-OK YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Yummy! My children are not fond of this dish but once I used this recipe they asked for seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States