Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is my go to recipe for Beans and rice. I live in Louisiana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Delish! First time making Red Bean and Rice and I love it. I stuck to the recipe with one exception -- I do not eat pork and my husband is a vegetarian, so at the point in the recipe before you add the meat, I split it in to two pots; one vegetarian and the other using a chicken andouille sausage. Both pots are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I've never had authentic red beans & rice--so if you want an expert opinion about that--find another review. BUT I am a pretty awesome cook (according to my 3 kids & husband anyway!) and this was a great dinner for us. The directions are easy to follow, the ingredients are accessible (meaning I didn't have to fly to Tibet for a 1/2 tsp. of anything--relatively speaking), and the taste was super. My only semi-negative comment is directed towards myself because the only andouille I could find was "meh" which meant the flavor IT imparted was also average. SO make sure you go to a real butcher and ask for their andouille & don't use middle-America-glorified-hot-dog andouille! The extra effort will be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Excellent! Did use chicken broth instead of water and added tons of cajun seasoning.Also used smoked sausage and hubby thought it was wonderful. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
My family absolutely loves this particular red beans and rice recipe. We do pull a cup of cooked beans out and add back into the mix to make it a bit creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraOinAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Everyone loved this! I used chicken broth instead of water and simmered it with a ham hock. The last half hour it cooked with the lid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hs in so cal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I have made this twice with kielbasa and couldn't stop eating it. Can't wait to order some real andouille from Jacob's or whoever. My only change is the rice: I prefer brown. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe with absolute punctilio. My mouth is watering just writing about it. Seriously--it's like candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Made this for poker night. Guys that don't even like red beans and rice were going back for seconds and even thirds. Popeye's got nothing on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I made this vegetarian by making a roux with vegetable oil and flour - 1/2 c oil to a little over 1/2 c flour. I added veggie stock to the broth. I put red beans in a slow cooker on high for three hours with onions, and then I added the other ingredients and cooked for another three hours, still on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States