Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
LOVED IT! I goofed and put creole seasoning instead of cajun seasoning (oops), but it was still terrific. A bit runnier than I expected, but that is by no means a disappointment. Spicy, hearty, comfort food. I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmohlere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I love this recipe, but I cheat. I use turkey kielbasa, 1 can of beans and 1/2 can of refried beans (or 2 cans of beans and mash up 1 of the cans of beans before adding it to the veggies & liquid), and most of the seasonings. I use less water and add bullion if I have it. This way I can make it for dinner when I get in from work. It might not be authentic, but it is tasty. I try to let it simmer for 45 minutes before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Meh.. Not the worst, but not the best I've had either. Since it has good bones, I gave it 3 stars. I too found it lacking flavor, and greasy. But I suspect that could have been the brand of sausage I used so I won't hold that against the recipe. Will try cooking beans with hocks, jowls or at least pickled pork. Next time instead of using water to cook the beans I will use stock, and saute' vegetables in bacon fat, and a different brand of sausage. Maybe some Jasmine rice too. Good red beans and rice are out there. I've had them.I just need to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Stivers Boyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Golden, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This was absolutely delicious though I improvised a few things. I added a small ham hock at about the 1 hour point on the beans, and cut and fried up some breakfast sausage with the grease from it for a little more meaty flavor. I also mashed up some of the beans after they had gotten soft so they would mix in with the base better. Finally, instead of serving OVER the rice, I mixed the rice in with the beans (I also used brown rice instead of white).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This recipe is spot on. We like to eat our red beans and rice with hot-water cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I must be missing something because it turned out extremely watery and not very flavorful. Followed the instructions as stated, using actual andouille (mine was an alligator/pork mix) and fresh veggies. When done, the broth tasted very watery and the veggies were dreadfully soggy. With all the spices I put in it should have been way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Severyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I love red beans and rice. This was my first time making it. I used 8ounce trinity mix instead of cutting up the vegetables. I bought it at a nearby grocer. I also used 32 ounces of vegetble broth with one cup of water. I reduced the water by a cup as suggested by others. I may reduce it by a cup and a half next time. I used chicken sausage for the sausage. This was a very tasty dish. I used a teaspoon of cayenne pepper because I wanted it hotter. I'm very pleased with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheka Jones
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made a few changes here and there but it's still the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheka Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Maybe my expectation was different. I was looking for more thick consistancy (like Popeye's beans and rice) I followed the recipe and cooked with lid on. It was too soupy for my liking and little flavor less. I drained about 16 oz water while it was still cooking, add 2 cans of red beans. Then I mashed the beans/veggies, add a lot more of cajun seasoning. After these changes, it tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A.G.
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
As written I give this 4 stars. I stuck very closely to the recipe, but made a few modifications. I added about 4 extra ounces of sausage and another tsp. of cajun seasoning. After about 1 hour I tasted the sauce and it really needed salt so I added 1 Tbsp. You could probably get away with 2 teaspoons, but the recipe definitely needed salt to enhance the other spices. Only cooked for 2 1/2 hours as beans were fairly done after 2. Very tasty. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States