Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Cajun-country reviewer here to say this is about as authentic as it gets, though technically a Cajun home cook doesn't use recipes or measurements. According to Louisiana tradition this would be served on a Monday -- supposedly an easy meal for laundry day because of the simmering time -- accompanied by sweet, plain, or cracklin' cornbread and a glass of iced sweet tea. Practically speaking, it's a tasty & inexpensive any-day meal. Oh, and, andouille is a cajun sausage made in Louisiana & pretty common in southeastern grocery stores; elsewhere, you might be able to find it in specialty stores or else ask if the manager of your grocery store can order it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
770 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Awesome recipe! Very authentic, and I'm from the south. I decreased the oil to 2 Tbl. to cut down on the fat, decreased the cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp. (just personal preference), and used the "Simple Cajun Seasoning" recipe found on this site. I cooked everything with the lid on for the first hour to keep the water from evaporating, then cooked 1 more hour with the lid off (2 hours total was perfect). I used turkey smoked sausage to, again, cut down on the fat (added the last 30 minutes of cooking). After cooking, I added 1 1/2 tsp. salt. The next time I made this, I was half asleep and used pinto beans when I should have used red beans - still came out great! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This is the best! We enjoyed every spicy bite. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I've made this recipe lots of times now. Andouille is impossible to find around here, so I just use whatever I can find. The amount of cajun seasoning I use varies with how spicy it is, and I agree that it needs a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
This recipe was the best ever. I used smoked sausage, because I could not find andouille sausage. I added more salt and cayenne pepper to taste. This will be my staple red beans and rice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This recipe got rave reviews from my family. I did make several changes: I used a can of black beans instead of the dry kidney beans, added 1 can 14.5 oz. of diced tomatoes, added some salt and omitted the green pepper and only used 2 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
My husband went to Tulane and he said this recipe was quite authentic! He recommended just giving it a couple extra hours simmering low on the stove. We used sweet italian sausage as not to scare off our daughter with the spiciness of the andouille, but had a bottle of Tabasco on the table to spice things up a bit if we wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I cooked this for a potluck at work and most thought it was really good. I've recieved 2 requests to cook it for them for a couple special events than plan to have. I loved it and just added a bit more cajun seasoning and a bit more cayenne pepper. The andouille sausage set it off perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Excellent! I forgot to soak the beans overnight so they only soaked for a couple of hours before cooking. So they weren't soupy. I did add salt as was recommended by so many others. Cooking time was right on. I will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Too spicy for hubby, but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpecialKsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States