Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is my first time commenting - but I just had to because this recipe was SO GOOD! Right up there with some amazing red beans and rice I've had in New Orleans. SO SO GOOD. The only thing I did differently was I added salt to taste and it was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Tried recipe as is and the flavor is okay. The hubby and I both agree that its missing something. Once I find the missing something, I think this will be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Absolutely amazing! Everyone went back for seconds and there was enough for leftovers which did not last long. Based on other recommendations, I doubled the Cajun spice (Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning)and added a few splashes of Tabasco after I added the andouille. It had plenty of kick, but not so much that the kids wouldn't eat it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Everyone in my house loved this. I cooked this in the slow cooker for about 8 hours and added a smoked turkey leg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This recipe was very bland. I had to spice it up with old bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Excellent, authentic Louisiana flavor. I left out the sage because I'm not a fan of it. I added a little cumin, seasoned salt, pepper, and worcestershire for extra flavor. Also I just used a smoked pork and beef sausage because the store didn't have andouille. It was delicious, and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The whole family loves this one. We use Tony Chachere's for the Cajun seasoning, and plain hardwood smoked sausage if we don't andouille on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I have made this several times without changing a thing and I absolutely love it. Everyone that tries it loves it. I use Earl Campbell sausage when I can't find andouille. I honestly believe Earl Campbell sausage makes it more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Made this recipe in the crockpot. No need to soak the beans. Browned 5 slices smoked bacon and used that grease instead of olive oil (less than 1/4 cup). No sage. Added 2 cloves garlic to the sauted veggies (must have garlic!). Cooked on low for 8 hours in the crockpot. Used smoked turkey sausage instead. Came out GREAT! Will definetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Awesome!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESPECIALLY1

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States