Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
just plain excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very bland for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Overall it didn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Not my families favorite will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I love this recipe--and I did not add any meat! I used 2 cans of red kidney beans, cut the other recipe ingredients in half, and added a 15 oz. can of chicken broth. I let it simmer while I fixed the rice. This was just the right amount for 2 people and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Lord knows how many recipes I have for Red Beans & Rice...been making it for years. With a couple of minor tweaks this is now my go to recipe. In addition to the andouille (no substitutes here) I will add another pound of meat...chicken or ham are great. I also use small red beans instead of kidney beans. Excellent product....I use it in my catering business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Delicious! Hubby and I loved it, baby loved the rice, and the dog loved licking the plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Great recipe,, Forget the olive oil and use bacon fat instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
We love this recipe! I dont always have time to soak the beans and do all that so I use 3-4 cans of dark kidney beans with the juice into the veggie mix. It turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I disagree that andouille is absolutely essential to an authentic red beans & rice. By definition, Cajun and Creole cuisine is "peasant food" that makes use of what is on hand by people who lived off the land (e g. Cajun) and/or cooked with secondary protein sources rejected by the rich (basically, the scraps - e.g. Creole). I think what you purists are referring to as "authentic" is in fact "traditional". In New Orleans even, andouille isn't the only protein that can be used in an authentic red beans recipe. You could use andouille, or tasso, or boudin. In the bayou (e.g. Donaldsonville, etc.) and on the plantation (West Feliciana Parish, etc.) you would also see smoked turkey necks, smoked ham hocks, pig feet, pork belly, alligator meat, etc. In fact, some of the oldest and most authentic recipes I've found for this dish contain only salt pork or pickled pork. I've even found fully vegetarian recipes that are older than the invention of andouille. Let's not forget, this dish is all about stretching a small amount of protein into a full meal in the autumn months when meat is scarce and what meat they had was being hoarded/preserved for winter. All that being said, I absolutely love andouille. I just find it ludicrous to get all snooty and stuck up about what started off as the furthest thing in the world from pretentious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russ Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States