Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Only gave 4 stars because I didn't exactly follow the recipe of HOW to cook this but I DID use the exact spices listed and it was fantastic! First off, I didn't have the bell pepper or sausage. I also replaced 4 cups of the water with home canned chicken stock. [Here's the method to my madness: 1)Sort red kidney beans and "soak" using (5 quart) PRESSURE COOKER (put beans into cooker with 4 cups of water, bring to pressure and cook 5 minutes, let cool naturally). 2)Meanwhile, cook "trinity" (onions, celery, garlic) in bacon grease instead of olive oil. 3)Once pressure cooker is depressurized, rinse beans with cold water. Return beans to cooker and add vegetables, chicken stock, water, and spices; stir. 4)Bring to a boil and lower heat to simmer, uncovered, for about 45 min-1 hour. 5)Steam rice while beans are finishing.] I thought the kids would think it was too spicy but it was just right for kids and myself. The hubby added more Tony's (Tony Chachere's Original Creole Seasoning) since he likes it a bit more on the spicy side. I think Frank's Red Hot Sauce or Tabasco would also be an awesome addition. This is going in the meal rotation for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Fantastic....added a bottle of beer and chicken stock to replace water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Love this....awesome with shrimp toooo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Fantastic! This recipe was just what I was looking for! A definite keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Loved this recipe!!! I changed it up to suit my "Okie" way of cooking. 1 1/4 teaspoons of dried oregano, 4 Tablespoons of Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning, 1 Tablespoon of dried parsley, 2 Tablespoons dried onion flakes, 2 Tablespoons minced garlic, 1 Tablespoon of salt, 1 teaspoon black pepper, 3-4 Tablespoons Knorr chicken flavor bouillon, 6 cups of water, 1 bag of beans soaked over night and big chunks of ham. Put it all in crock pot on high and cook till done. Mash 2-3 Tablespoons beans in cup and add back in crock pot for thicker beans. I fix a pot of white rice and sweet cornbread to go with the beans. Talk about A-OK YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Yummy! My children are not fond of this dish but once I used this recipe they asked for seconds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I found this a very easy, affordable, and tasty recipe with just the right amount of spice. I followed the recipe exactly but used andouille chicken sausage (a bit milder than the one I normally can find) and the cajun spice mix from this site (leaving out the optional red pepper flakes). Like many others, I served this with a side of cornbread. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Really good! I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristy ann
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Some extra tips from a southern woman, throw away any floating beans before cooking and dice your veggies as small as possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I'm from Colorado so hey can't say if its authentic but it is good. My only alteration was that I used caned beans, thanks Miami
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States