Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Maybe my expectation was different. I was looking for more thick consistancy (like Popeye's beans and rice) I followed the recipe and cooked with lid on. It was too soupy for my liking and little flavor less. I drained about 16 oz water while it was still cooking, add 2 cans of red beans. Then I mashed the beans/veggies, add a lot more of cajun seasoning. After these changes, it tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A.G.
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
As written I give this 4 stars. I stuck very closely to the recipe, but made a few modifications. I added about 4 extra ounces of sausage and another tsp. of cajun seasoning. After about 1 hour I tasted the sauce and it really needed salt so I added 1 Tbsp. You could probably get away with 2 teaspoons, but the recipe definitely needed salt to enhance the other spices. Only cooked for 2 1/2 hours as beans were fairly done after 2. Very tasty. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Very good - andouille sausage is a MUST for this. Thankfully I live in Texas and we have it in our markets. Instead of spooning it over rice I just mix the rice in with it. Makes great leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I love this recipe! I'm from Louisiana and it's very rare that I like my cooking better than other's cooking, but when I make this I feel like the BEST cook in the world. I've made it 3 times now and every time its been amazing! Definitely needs salt and more cajun seasoning... but everything else is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BryAna Villar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Awesome recipe!! This is so much better than any of the "cajun" restaurants here in Tampa. I am from Texas and I really miss being able to get all of the great dishes from NOLA. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I have been using this recipe for several years now and I get rave reviews on it all the time! My husband's family is from New Orleans and we lived there and other parts of Louisiana for about 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Good recipe! I did add some salt, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Absolute best recipe ever. First time making beans not canned. I put them in boiling water placed a lid over the beans and brought them to a simmer for an hour. Drained them and proceeded with the recipe. I didn't want to waste two pots so I sautéed the herbs first, added the trinity, sausage and moved it into a bowl. I took the reconstituted beans threw them into the same pot and added a quart of vegetable stock and the remaining 2 cups of liquid (I used water). Dashed some kosher salt After about an hour and 20 minutes I checked the beans and they were perfect. I added back the veggies and sausage (I used turkey kielbasa-could not find any andouille in my grocery store) and simmered for another 30 minutes to reduce liquid). Garnished with cilantro and green onions. To die for. Thank you for such an incredible recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was great. My grandkids loved it. I used gluten free Brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Ethridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I tried this recipe, and it was delicious, everyone loved it!! So i brought in a couple Louisiana natives to give it a try, while they did enjoy it, they immediately pointed out some improvements, such as cooking the kidney beans in pinto bean seasoning, and adding a ham hock to beans while cooking. By the way, it was so much better the next day. All in all the finished product was extremely enjoyable, so following the recipe precisely will not be a let down. Happy cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States