Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe as it was written. This was my first time making red beans and rice, I did a really good job thanks to this recipe!! I will make it again and again. All this needed was a little salt to suit the eaters taste. I didn't add salt while it was cooking. I just let everyone add on as much or as little as they wanted once they fixed their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Very good!!! Hearty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
There was something missing. Not sure what it was. Close but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
If you can hold off for a day the reheat of this is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Added quite a bit of salt. Very spicy for my family with small children, but that's easily rectified in future planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
First time I cooked this meal I knocked it out the park! Easy recipe and it taste really good! I wouldn't make it any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristina123
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this without meat, and it was really good!!! I used canned beans. And I put the rice in with the bean mix for like the last 15 minutes of cooking and that's what I'll do next time. Also next time I'll add more peppers, like 4-5 cups water and maybe I'll blend up a can of beans to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I pulled this recipe up to compare it to my Louisiana red bean & rice recipe and it is almost identical. I also use chicken stock instead of water and I add one small can of tomato sauce, 8oz, to add a little vegetable stock flavor. It won't give it a tomato flavor. I often place all ingredients in a crock pot in the morning, eight or more hours total time, and serve for supper over rice. Bon App'etit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francis Polizzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This was very delicious. I got nervous as I was cooking it because I used 2 cans of red kidney beans instead of the dry beans. I had read another review that said she cut the cook time in half since she used can beans. So I browned the sausage. Then cooked the veggies in the grease left over from the sausage. Poured the veggies in one container of chicken broth, it ended up being about 4 cups I believe. Let it simmer for about 30 minutes then added the sausage in with the beans/spices/veggies/broth that had been simmering for 30 mins. Still when I was done it was too soupy. I read other reviews where people added the rice in the pot. That thickened it up just right. I was worried for nothing because it turned out amazing since I added the rice with the mixture. I also added more Tonys seasoning and extra cayenne pepper since we love spicy. Used 3 bay leaves, oregano, parsley. I kinda just threw ot in as I thought necessary. Thanks for great recipe. Oh and I added one can of tomatoes/chiles when I added the sausage to the mix. So overall I had celery, bell pepper, tomatoes/chiles, garlic, onion, beans, and sausage. I use a microwave rice cooker because I am terrible at cooking rice. I cook my rice in the rice cooker and add the done rice to the pot of all of the spices/meat/veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LearningToCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
The favors are spot on yummy, but I used cheater (canned) beans, reduced cooking time to a little over an hour. Everything else was the same and yummy. Might cut back a smidge on the cayenne as it will be even hotter tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States