Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Absolute best recipe ever. First time making beans not canned. I put them in boiling water placed a lid over the beans and brought them to a simmer for an hour. Drained them and proceeded with the recipe. I didn't want to waste two pots so I sautéed the herbs first, added the trinity, sausage and moved it into a bowl. I took the reconstituted beans threw them into the same pot and added a quart of vegetable stock and the remaining 2 cups of liquid (I used water). Dashed some kosher salt After about an hour and 20 minutes I checked the beans and they were perfect. I added back the veggies and sausage (I used turkey kielbasa-could not find any andouille in my grocery store) and simmered for another 30 minutes to reduce liquid). Garnished with cilantro and green onions. To die for. Thank you for such an incredible recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was great. My grandkids loved it. I used gluten free Brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Ethridge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Hi y'all, So I tried this recipe, and it was delicious, everyone loved it!! So i brought in a couple Louisiana natives to give it a try, while they did enjoy it, they immediately pointed out some improvements, such as cooking the kidney beans in pinto bean seasoning, and adding a ham hock to beans while cooking. By the way, it was so much better the next day. All in all the finished product was extremely enjoyable, so following the recipe precisely will not be a let down. Happy cooking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Awesome!!! I gar-en-tee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne Kight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Substituted the beans with the "15 Bean Soup" bean mix. Added 1/4 teaspoon of grounded white pepper and salt to taste. Used 2lbs of sausage instead of 1lb. My family loved it. Served with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin_All
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Only thing I did different was cook it longer to get the beans to break down like the red beans and rice my Cajun roommate made This turned out just like his. The quality of the sausage makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Had to add salt and left out the celery. Word of caution on the Andouille sausage if you have those that don't like spicy food - cook the sausage first and rinse it off to remove some of the heal from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I just made this tonight. I would change two things. Next time I will use chicken broth instead of water and add more Cajun seasoning. Other than that we found it very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe as it was written. This was my first time making red beans and rice, I did a really good job thanks to this recipe!! I will make it again and again. All this needed was a little salt to suit the eaters taste. I didn't add salt while it was cooking. I just let everyone add on as much or as little as they wanted once they fixed their plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Very good!!! Hearty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States