Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
tried this one today. followed exactly except couldn't find the sausage so i used Hot Italian Sausage and maybe that was the problem. it was hot enough, but had no flavor. this was my first time eating it, and i hope to find a more flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Cox Richey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Yum-my!! SO good husband ate it all, I had only one serving..I will make again, maybe without the sausage. Deeeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
After trying and failing with many other Red Beans and Rice recipes, I finally found a great one! I always add a little extra andouille, use canned kidney beans instead of soaking them, and add some chopped jalapeno peppers along with the onion and peppers. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Spicy but really good! Makes a lot. Make sure you soak the beans in a large pot, as a small one will not make it through the night in terms of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
It was pretty good. It made a lot of food too. The only complaint I have is that I really felt like it was missing something. I'm not sure what though. I did use the andouille sausage too - which is suprisingly hard to find in the Midwest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Andouille makes the best spicy flavor and I serve this dish with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This recipe turned out sooo great!! But it makes sooo much! being the only one in the house that likes cajun food, I'll have to scale it down next time, but you really have to try this; it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Daddio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is my first time commenting - but I just had to because this recipe was SO GOOD! Right up there with some amazing red beans and rice I've had in New Orleans. SO SO GOOD. The only thing I did differently was I added salt to taste and it was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Tried recipe as is and the flavor is okay. The hubby and I both agree that its missing something. Once I find the missing something, I think this will be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States