Authentic Lebanese Fattoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I continue to be amazed by how great the recipes are on this site. This salad is so good. I fried the pita bread and put it in the salad (so much better this way). The idea came from a resturant here in Ann Arbor. The dressing is awesome. I will use this dressing in more salads. You can also add feta if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I am finding that I just LOVE Lebanese, Armenian, and Greek recipes - this one sounds wonderful. I intend to try it tomorrow - just hope I can find the sumac and the purslane (sp?) here in Massachusetts. I wonder if there is a substitute for either one, if not - or where to find the two. I can almost taste the salad as I write - we had yummy tabbouleh tonight from this site - used a combination of suggestions plus my memories of the first tabbouleh I ever ate. This salad sounds rather like a "green" form of tabbouleh, with many of the same flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
wow - this is exactly like the fattoush at my favorite lebanese restaurant in detroit. now living in new mexico, i had bit of a time tracking down the sumac. i made it without and then the next day, at a flea market, i discovered a spice stall run by an egyptian man who was selling sumac. how fortuitous! the next day i made again WITH the sumac - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was full of flavor. I modified the dressing a bit--I did olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and pepper. I added cherry tomatoes and red onion. I agree that toasting the pita in the oven is the way to go. I'd recommend slicing it first into bite sized pieces and brushing with olive oil, red pepper, and cumin. The arugula gave this salad a nice kick. I served this with Lebanese-Style Red Lentil Soup for a healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe along with the Lebaneese Chicken & Potatoes, also from this site. If you have access to garlic pita chips sold like potato chips, use that instead and this becomes a quick dinner meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This salad is a staple for the Lebanese, right under tabouleh. However, the mountain people never make a dressing with cornstarch or heating. So, according to my mother-in-law (a little of this and a bit more of that) you add the sumac to the onions that you have chopped in the bowl. The sumac is mixed into the onions and it is used liberally. All vegetables are chopped into the bowl. Then mixed together with salt, black pepper, lemon juice and olive oil. At the very end you mix in the toasted pita bread (make sure you pull the pita apart so you have two rounds before you toast). Then enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
i really love this salad. i've been looking for its recipe ever since i left lebanon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I have been searching for this dressing recipe!!! This is just like one that I used to have when I lived in Dearborn, MI. Thank you, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Loed this salad - I used sumac, olive oil, garlic and lemon juice for the dressing - worked well. also I fried the pita bread lightly in garlic olive oil - very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
excellent - almost as good as the local lebanesse pita shop! now if only there was a way to keep this stuff in the fridge and it not go soggy in a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DTRUBELA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States