Authentic Lebanese Fattoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I continue to be amazed by how great the recipes are on this site. This salad is so good. I fried the pita bread and put it in the salad (so much better this way). The idea came from a resturant here in Ann Arbor. The dressing is awesome. I will use this dressing in more salads. You can also add feta if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe along with the Lebaneese Chicken & Potatoes, also from this site. If you have access to garlic pita chips sold like potato chips, use that instead and this becomes a quick dinner meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I am finding that I just LOVE Lebanese, Armenian, and Greek recipes - this one sounds wonderful. I intend to try it tomorrow - just hope I can find the sumac and the purslane (sp?) here in Massachusetts. I wonder if there is a substitute for either one, if not - or where to find the two. I can almost taste the salad as I write - we had yummy tabbouleh tonight from this site - used a combination of suggestions plus my memories of the first tabbouleh I ever ate. This salad sounds rather like a "green" form of tabbouleh, with many of the same flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
thought the recipe was pretty good i make fattoush all the time the only difference is i dont use constarch in the dressing and i add red onion and raddishes for more flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is a very good, healthy recipe. I made it twice. The first time exactly as directed (except I used all Romaine and no purslane or arugula.) The second time, I made the dressing with 2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil and doubled the sumac. I liked it better the second time. This entire recipe was devoured in one sitting by two people. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was not the fattoush flavor that I was looking for, but still pretty good. I used bottled lemon juice instead of fresh, and I think that was the problem. I'll definately make this again using fresh juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Fattoush does not require: cornstarch, arugula, parsley. I love fattoush, it's one of the most zesty, delicious and easy to make salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I love Fattoush, I grew up with it as a kid. One suggestion I have is to toast the pita bread in an oven/toaster oven until crispy, break it into bite size pieces and mix it into the salad. It is a healthier option than frying the pita as another user mentioned, and adds a nice crunch to the fattoush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnyblaze1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
wow - this is exactly like the fattoush at my favorite lebanese restaurant in detroit. now living in new mexico, i had bit of a time tracking down the sumac. i made it without and then the next day, at a flea market, i discovered a spice stall run by an egyptian man who was selling sumac. how fortuitous! the next day i made again WITH the sumac - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
i really love this salad. i've been looking for its recipe ever since i left lebanon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States