Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
If I could give 6 stars I would... yum yum YUM! I will never buy hummus in the grocery store again -- this is simple, delicious, inexpensive, and quick. Just a great recipe -- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Not a HUGE hummus lover, but I love the restaurant stuff, so tangy and creamy. So I had high expectations when making this recipe and were those expectations met!! This stuff is AWESOME! So worth the extra time to roast the garlic, what a wonderful aroma! My only complaint was that it shorted my blender (but that's probably bc I doubled the recipe and it just got tired). I will use the food processor next time. Store bought hummus be damned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very very good. I really enjoyed the taste. I do not think I let my garlic cook long enough because it did not come out as creamy nor sweet as usual. But even the taste of this one before adding the garlic which I did last was exceptionally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebarbiedoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
When I served this recipe earlier in the week, it was declared my best hummus yet! I agree with other posters that it's a bit thick and added a couple of drizzles of olive oil to the food processor while it puréed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Like other reviewers, very good, but a bit thick, and tart! Adding more oil and water fixed the thickness. And I don't know what Syrian-style means, but I'd put a bit less lemon juice in next time. Or maybe add a touch of sugar to offset the tartness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Fantastic. Everyone that tried it asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Lovely and a cinch to make! This is one of the best hummus recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Splendent

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Great recipe - the best home-made hummus that I've ever made! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very good! I made my own tahini in the food processor by blending 2 T sesame seeds until smooth, then adding in salt, oil and water (don't remember the exact measurements, sorry!). Turned out great! I served it with pita triangles that were drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with Greek seasoning and baked at 325F for 3min. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
After trying many recipes this month..(I'm on a Hummus kick!), this one was the best. As others have mentioned, it was a bit thicker than I prefer so the addition of some water and olive oil fixed that issue! I also added a teeny-tiny amount of sugar to finish it off. Next time, I can't wait to add maybe some roasted red peppers or cilantro or whatever..this recipe really inspired me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States