Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
My husband and I love hummus. We live in the near east so we are quite familiar with hummus of various kinds. I've had it in several countries, each with subtle differences. However, my husband said this particular hummus is the BEST he's EVER had. I think it was the addition of cumin. I start with dried chick peas since they are hard to find canned in this country. I must say that I also roasted red bell peppers and added some fresh parsley to this recipe. Other than that, kept everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT Fish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This was my first real attempt at hummus, using tahini, so I wanted a solid, "authentic" recipe. I saw "Syrian grandmother" and was sold! My garlic weighed 1/4oz (~5 small). I ate the rest of the roasted garlic, now my boyfriend is sitting on the other side of the couch. Oh well. It is quite thick; I used some of the liquid I saved from the garbanzo bean can instead of oil to thin it out. You could probably use a wee bit less than 1/2 cup tahini, but then again it tasted so nice I don't think I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This hummus has a fantastic taste! I used 7 cloves of garlic instead of 5 and I had to add about 1.5 tbsps more oil than stated. The only reason why I didn't give it a 5/5 was that it was so thick it broke my brand new $100 blender. So, please be careful and add oil if you need to. But again, this is a truly delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
If I could give 6 stars I would... yum yum YUM! I will never buy hummus in the grocery store again -- this is simple, delicious, inexpensive, and quick. Just a great recipe -- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Not a HUGE hummus lover, but I love the restaurant stuff, so tangy and creamy. So I had high expectations when making this recipe and were those expectations met!! This stuff is AWESOME! So worth the extra time to roast the garlic, what a wonderful aroma! My only complaint was that it shorted my blender (but that's probably bc I doubled the recipe and it just got tired). I will use the food processor next time. Store bought hummus be damned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very very good. I really enjoyed the taste. I do not think I let my garlic cook long enough because it did not come out as creamy nor sweet as usual. But even the taste of this one before adding the garlic which I did last was exceptionally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebarbiedoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
When I served this recipe earlier in the week, it was declared my best hummus yet! I agree with other posters that it's a bit thick and added a couple of drizzles of olive oil to the food processor while it puréed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Like other reviewers, very good, but a bit thick, and tart! Adding more oil and water fixed the thickness. And I don't know what Syrian-style means, but I'd put a bit less lemon juice in next time. Or maybe add a touch of sugar to offset the tartness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Fantastic. Everyone that tried it asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Lovely and a cinch to make! This is one of the best hummus recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Splendent

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States