Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This recipe is great! I'd never eaten hummus before, but after getting a new food processor, I wanted to try it. This recipe looked promising since it has roasted garlic instead of raw. I followed directions (almost) exactly, but ended up having to drizzle about 1/4 cup additional olive oil in at the end to make a better consistency. I also used a bit less lemon juice. The final product was delicious - even better after chilling for about 6 hours in the fridge. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimflorida28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
too thick and not garlicky enough :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Easy and delicious. Added roasted red peppers and the oil from that jar, instead of all the olive oil. Fantastic. Very versatile recipe. I'm about to make it again, this time with sun-dried tomatoes. Mmmm!!! Might not roast all the garlic, since I like a lot of kick in my hummus and roasting really mellows the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
The lemon taste was way too stong for my husband and I. I may try this again later and modify the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Definately worth the 5 stars I just gave it! I got such rave reviews from my family on this recipe when I made it for a family gathering! My test was when I brought some in for the egyptian doctor I work for. He said I did a very good job! Thank you for such a fantastic recipe! I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina w.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I hate to knock this down a star, but I had issues with the consistency. I added olive oil to get it to an acceptable level, but next time I don't think I'll drain the garbanzo beans and maybe add a little more lemon juice. I'll also double the recipe because I want leftovers! Flavor is fantastic! An explosion of cumin. Love it with sweet bell peppers--great contrast with the sweet and salty/cumin of the hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Having a Syrian grandfather I was so excited to find this recipe! I'm allergic to sesame/tehinah so I added a tbs of mayo and extra evoo. Also I think I need to reduce the garlic next time (probably too strong b/c no tahinah)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was perfect and exactly what I was hoping for so I could stop buying the $8 tubs at SAMS of it...lol. Only thing I altered was instead of going through the trouble of roasting the garlic, I just used store bought minced roasted garlic and used 3 hepping tablespoons..also I added 1 large red bell pepper that I roasted and peeled to get it like the brand I am use to buying and according to my husband I am spot on better *thumbs up* Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttrflylace3535

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was a very creamy hummus, which is what I wanted. Previously I always found that my hummus had a bit of a grainy texture that I found off putting, and tried everything to fix. (Skinning the chickpeas, adding extra oil etc.) I think it is the extra tahini that makes the difference here. My only complaint is that while I love roasted garlic, I could not really taste it here. Next time I make it I am going to roast a whole head and put that in. That will create a perfect hummus! I drizzled it with toasted pine nuts and olive oil to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
My husband and I love hummus. We live in the near east so we are quite familiar with hummus of various kinds. I've had it in several countries, each with subtle differences. However, my husband said this particular hummus is the BEST he's EVER had. I think it was the addition of cumin. I start with dried chick peas since they are hard to find canned in this country. I must say that I also roasted red bell peppers and added some fresh parsley to this recipe. Other than that, kept everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT Fish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States