Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was really good! I followed the original recipe (with the exception of using minced garlic from a jar instead of fresh) and thought it needed a little more flavor. So, I added extra cumin, some curry, another tablespoon of garlic, and 3/4 of a roasted red pepper. I also left most of the juice in the beans to avoid it being too thick. The consistency was perfect and the taste was great. It was very similar to the red pepper hummus at one of my favorite local places. I've tried to replicate it several times with no luck, so I am very pleased with this recipe! My main advice is to not lessen the amount of tahini. It's a strong flavor, but tahini makes hummus! Thanks for sharing. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I love hummus and this recipe turned out very well but, oh man was it garlicky! The longer it sat the more garlicky it became. We happily ate it all but the garlic aftertaste, yuk, I don't know if I can do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I make this hummus every week, my family is addicted to it. Once I make it, I remove half of it from the processor and then add some roasted red peppers in the half that still remains in the processor, then mix again. I have plain & roasted red pepper hummus at the same time. It is a bit thick as per the recipe, I add a bit of water instead of more oil, does the trick without the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This hummus is perfect! It is better than anything you get in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily S. S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good hummus recipe. The roasted garlic gives a depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Good! I added cumin and cayenne pepper to spice it up. And a little extra olive oil while it was in the food processor as I noticed it needed a little extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Best hummus I have ever tasted let alone made! Excellent as is but for a little variation I add chipotle chili peppers and roasted red peppers... really takes this to the next level. I also increase the amount of garlic as roasting the garlic first really tames the flavour. This has become a staple food item in my home, easy to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I loved it, but there was too much tahini, I will love it even more the next time when I cut it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This recipe is great! I'd never eaten hummus before, but after getting a new food processor, I wanted to try it. This recipe looked promising since it has roasted garlic instead of raw. I followed directions (almost) exactly, but ended up having to drizzle about 1/4 cup additional olive oil in at the end to make a better consistency. I also used a bit less lemon juice. The final product was delicious - even better after chilling for about 6 hours in the fridge. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimflorida28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
too thick and not garlicky enough :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States