Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I've made a bunch of hummus recipes from this site, but this one is absolutely delish! It tastes like my hummus has been left to flavour in a smoke house! I love garlic, but when I make hummus and add extra garlic it always burns (and I smell for days!). What a great way to make garlicky hummus without all of that raw garlic. I don't know why this method never crossed my mind. Anyways as for the lemon and tahini, I never measure it out, I just taste as I go along. Perfect and I will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My dad said "it tasted like the real thing", lol. It came out great!! I followed the recipe exactly as the author wrote it, then slowly added some of the reserved liquid from the can to thin it out some. I also rinsed the beans very well before blending them- something I recently learned from weight watchers, helps you add less salt. I removed 2/3 of the hummus, and then added some fresh mint per the author's suggestion- and it was really good! Went great with sliced up cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I love Hummus, but raw garlic doesn't agree with me. This recipe is awesome. I make it exactly as written with the exception of not draining the beans. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
this is the first time i've made hummus and it is good! this recipe is so creeeeamy and such a nice texture. it would be 5 stars but it was so thick as written my blender wouldn't blend it (i have a Magic Bullet); my tahini was liquidy and mixed, all as written. i added olive oil and some water to get it to blend. can't wait to have the rest tomorrow after flavors have blended. i'd add more garlic and cumin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I had to change the recipe a bit to make it work for me. I ended up using about 1/4 cup of olive oil and a little water to make it the right consistency. My husband loves garlic so I roasted and added a whole small head of garlic. The roasted garlic gives it a sweet flavor so its not too overpowering. I did find this tasted better the next day once all of the flavors melded together. I served it with home made pita chips. Overall with a few tweeks it's really good and I've made it 2 times so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This recipe is excellent! I love that it's easy to double for parties - I just make sure that I make 1 batch at a time - otherwise, my blender doesn't blend too well. Many people have asked me for this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My husband and I make this all the time. We started making our own tahini from scratch too, as it is super easy, tastes better, and is cheaper than most store-bought tahini. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I made this today and it really is a delicious hummus. Based on other reviews, I did decrease the amount of lemon juice the recipe called for but that is just personal preference. The only other change I made to the original recipe was to add a few olives and some hot sauce before I processed it. I also loosened it up with just a bit of water to get to the consistency I wanted. The flavor of this hummus is dead on! Incredible! Thank you, Mary!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Mine was not too thick. It's a fine recipe as it is. Recipes that call for tahini assume you're using canned tahini, which separates into a thick layer of sesame butter and a layer of oil. Just like natural peanut butter, you have to mix it back together before you add it to recipes. This recipe assumes you did that before measuring out the tahini, so you would then have a very liquidy tahini, providing the correct amount of moisture for texture :) I think this tastes good, but not outstanding. If I get another verdict on it tonight, I'll change my stars. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States