Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Thank you, Mary! Hummus was one of my snack "staples" and carry-alongs in the States for the gluten-free, dairy-free, candida-free diet that I have had to follow. Since we moved back to Spain last fall, I haven't been able to find hummus that is gluten and dairy free. Just this week I finally found a gluten free Tahini and was finally able to try your recipe. One of my favorite snacks has been resurrected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Haley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Some of how I did this was my fault but with the amounts used in this recipe, it was way way too thick. I mean it would be like a mashed baked potato without any butter or milk. So I added a good half cup of water. I wanted to use raw garlic and did but didn't compensate and I used 5 cloves which was too much. If you want it raw, use like 2 cloves. But you definitely need more liquid. I also added one more TB of Olive oil to the mix. Maybe a little less tahini too like some have said since it's bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is truly a great Hummus recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is great and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This recipe is great! I didn't have Cumin on hand so I replaced it with Chilli powder... still tasted yummy and it added an extra "kick" to the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I am wolfing this right now with carrots as I write. I LOVE hummus but hate the $$. I made this exactly as wrote and actually doubled the recipe (I heart hummus that much). I made this exactly as wrote and about broke my blender. So instead of adding more oil - I added about 4 splashes of worcestershire sauce and a bit of water to make it creamier. I LOVE the roasted garlic flavor of this and I truly wish I had some red pepper flakes as that would make is SPICY (which I love). I have a bowl I just killed off with carrots and another for tomorrow on my pita with some tobasco! I will never buy hummus again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I tried this twice and the second time followed the directions exactly and it still came out far too dry and thick. I added some hot water and extra olive oil, and it didn't help much. Hummus is supposed to be soft and creamy. The taste is ok, not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
GREAT recipe... as with others a little on the dry side, I've made it SEVERAL times now, and either add more lemon juice, olive oil, or water as some have suggested.. just to get the right consistency. SOOOO good! Also added some roasted red peppers this last time.......... LOVE IT! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
My family is Egyptian and I have tried a lot of hummas. This is one of the best I have ever tried. So easy and delicious. Great Recipe. I left out roasting the garlic, just to save time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzie the Foodie
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This truly did taste like authentic hummus to me. Using roasted garlic is the best way to make it and I loved it and will be serving it at my Halloween party this year. I will be making it from now on too, so good and even my husband likes it and he is even pickier than I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States