Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My husband and I make this all the time. We started making our own tahini from scratch too, as it is super easy, tastes better, and is cheaper than most store-bought tahini. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I made this today and it really is a delicious hummus. Based on other reviews, I did decrease the amount of lemon juice the recipe called for but that is just personal preference. The only other change I made to the original recipe was to add a few olives and some hot sauce before I processed it. I also loosened it up with just a bit of water to get to the consistency I wanted. The flavor of this hummus is dead on! Incredible! Thank you, Mary!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Mine was not too thick. It's a fine recipe as it is. Recipes that call for tahini assume you're using canned tahini, which separates into a thick layer of sesame butter and a layer of oil. Just like natural peanut butter, you have to mix it back together before you add it to recipes. This recipe assumes you did that before measuring out the tahini, so you would then have a very liquidy tahini, providing the correct amount of moisture for texture :) I think this tastes good, but not outstanding. If I get another verdict on it tonight, I'll change my stars. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was really good! I followed the original recipe (with the exception of using minced garlic from a jar instead of fresh) and thought it needed a little more flavor. So, I added extra cumin, some curry, another tablespoon of garlic, and 3/4 of a roasted red pepper. I also left most of the juice in the beans to avoid it being too thick. The consistency was perfect and the taste was great. It was very similar to the red pepper hummus at one of my favorite local places. I've tried to replicate it several times with no luck, so I am very pleased with this recipe! My main advice is to not lessen the amount of tahini. It's a strong flavor, but tahini makes hummus! Thanks for sharing. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I love hummus and this recipe turned out very well but, oh man was it garlicky! The longer it sat the more garlicky it became. We happily ate it all but the garlic aftertaste, yuk, I don't know if I can do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I make this hummus every week, my family is addicted to it. Once I make it, I remove half of it from the processor and then add some roasted red peppers in the half that still remains in the processor, then mix again. I have plain & roasted red pepper hummus at the same time. It is a bit thick as per the recipe, I add a bit of water instead of more oil, does the trick without the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This hummus is perfect! It is better than anything you get in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily S. S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good hummus recipe. The roasted garlic gives a depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Good! I added cumin and cayenne pepper to spice it up. And a little extra olive oil while it was in the food processor as I noticed it needed a little extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Best hummus I have ever tasted let alone made! Excellent as is but for a little variation I add chipotle chili peppers and roasted red peppers... really takes this to the next level. I also increase the amount of garlic as roasting the garlic first really tames the flavour. This has become a staple food item in my home, easy to make and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States