Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Added olive oil per other commentators but otherwise followed it exactly, and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Even though I found this a bit tart, my VERY picky boyfriend loved this hummus so I have to give it 5 stars because that man doesn't like ANYTHING. I think the tartness is a matter of taste. It certainly didn't stop me from wolfing it down but I will probably add a tad less lemon juice next time. Also some found it too thick but I blended mine in a food processor, so the consistency was fluffy and creamy enough in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made four batches of hummus yesterday, this one, the Easy hummus, and the Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus. Of the recipes with Tahini and lemon juice, this was definitely the best. Most of my taste testers liked it way more that the Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus. However, I also called my Jordanian/Palestinian friend who said their recipe is just 1 TBSP of Lemon juice and 1 TBSP Tahini per cup of chickpeas, plus salt to taste. I made that and it was less overpowering than this Syrian Hummus but still have the tahini and lemon juice flavor. By the way, if tahini and lemon juice hummus hasn't been your favorite the easy one from allrecipes is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Thank you, Mary! Hummus was one of my snack "staples" and carry-alongs in the States for the gluten-free, dairy-free, candida-free diet that I have had to follow. Since we moved back to Spain last fall, I haven't been able to find hummus that is gluten and dairy free. Just this week I finally found a gluten free Tahini and was finally able to try your recipe. One of my favorite snacks has been resurrected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Haley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Some of how I did this was my fault but with the amounts used in this recipe, it was way way too thick. I mean it would be like a mashed baked potato without any butter or milk. So I added a good half cup of water. I wanted to use raw garlic and did but didn't compensate and I used 5 cloves which was too much. If you want it raw, use like 2 cloves. But you definitely need more liquid. I also added one more TB of Olive oil to the mix. Maybe a little less tahini too like some have said since it's bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is truly a great Hummus recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is great and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This recipe is great! I didn't have Cumin on hand so I replaced it with Chilli powder... still tasted yummy and it added an extra "kick" to the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I am wolfing this right now with carrots as I write. I LOVE hummus but hate the $$. I made this exactly as wrote and actually doubled the recipe (I heart hummus that much). I made this exactly as wrote and about broke my blender. So instead of adding more oil - I added about 4 splashes of worcestershire sauce and a bit of water to make it creamier. I LOVE the roasted garlic flavor of this and I truly wish I had some red pepper flakes as that would make is SPICY (which I love). I have a bowl I just killed off with carrots and another for tomorrow on my pita with some tobasco! I will never buy hummus again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States