Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
WOW!!! I have had good hummus before but this recipe is without a doubt the best hummus I have ever tasted! Truly heavenly! The cumin and the roasted garlic really make the dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This was my first real attempt at hummus, using tahini, so I wanted a solid, "authentic" recipe. I saw "Syrian grandmother" and was sold! My garlic weighed 1/4oz (~5 small). I ate the rest of the roasted garlic, now my boyfriend is sitting on the other side of the couch. Oh well. It is quite thick; I used some of the liquid I saved from the garbanzo bean can instead of oil to thin it out. You could probably use a wee bit less than 1/2 cup tahini, but then again it tasted so nice I don't think I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Excellent flavor - I love raw garlic in hummus, but the roasted adds a nice, milder garlic flavor. I used about 5 small cloves. The hummus is a bit thicker and pastier than I like, so I added a little extra olive oil and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I make this hummus every week, my family is addicted to it. Once I make it, I remove half of it from the processor and then add some roasted red peppers in the half that still remains in the processor, then mix again. I have plain & roasted red pepper hummus at the same time. It is a bit thick as per the recipe, I add a bit of water instead of more oil, does the trick without the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
My dad said "it tasted like the real thing", lol. It came out great!! I followed the recipe exactly as the author wrote it, then slowly added some of the reserved liquid from the can to thin it out some. I also rinsed the beans very well before blending them- something I recently learned from weight watchers, helps you add less salt. I removed 2/3 of the hummus, and then added some fresh mint per the author's suggestion- and it was really good! Went great with sliced up cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Like other reviewers, very good, but a bit thick, and tart! Adding more oil and water fixed the thickness. And I don't know what Syrian-style means, but I'd put a bit less lemon juice in next time. Or maybe add a touch of sugar to offset the tartness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
When I served this recipe earlier in the week, it was declared my best hummus yet! I agree with other posters that it's a bit thick and added a couple of drizzles of olive oil to the food processor while it puréed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyRandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
this is the first time i've made hummus and it is good! this recipe is so creeeeamy and such a nice texture. it would be 5 stars but it was so thick as written my blender wouldn't blend it (i have a Magic Bullet); my tahini was liquidy and mixed, all as written. i added olive oil and some water to get it to blend. can't wait to have the rest tomorrow after flavors have blended. i'd add more garlic and cumin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was perfect and exactly what I was hoping for so I could stop buying the $8 tubs at SAMS of it...lol. Only thing I altered was instead of going through the trouble of roasting the garlic, I just used store bought minced roasted garlic and used 3 hepping tablespoons..also I added 1 large red bell pepper that I roasted and peeled to get it like the brand I am use to buying and according to my husband I am spot on better *thumbs up* Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buttrflylace3535

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is divine!! I will never buy store hummus again!! Thanks! P.S. I did end up having to add a bit more olive oil because it was very thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKYNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States