Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Awesome, my new fav hummus recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Simple, authentic, and not hidden under any heavy flavor. Follow this exactly & you will not be dissappointed. I did not change a thing. I used dried and cooked beans because I prefer to stay away from cans. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was dynamite! I used freshly ground cumin and followed the recipe exactly, except now I see I was supposed to use the food processor. I used my blender, but next time I'm using the food processor because I think another minute in there would have killed my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minneapplemick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waverly, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Perfect hummus recipe! Everyone wanted the recipe after I served it at my New Year's Eve party. The roasted garlic makes this outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Great recipe for hummus. I always roast my garlic for hummus since I don't care for raw garlic. I ended up using the equivalent of two cans of beans and not as much lemon juice since I didn't want it to be too tart. I added black pepper, extra olive oil and water to puree. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Added olive oil per other commentators but otherwise followed it exactly, and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Even though I found this a bit tart, my VERY picky boyfriend loved this hummus so I have to give it 5 stars because that man doesn't like ANYTHING. I think the tartness is a matter of taste. It certainly didn't stop me from wolfing it down but I will probably add a tad less lemon juice next time. Also some found it too thick but I blended mine in a food processor, so the consistency was fluffy and creamy enough in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I made four batches of hummus yesterday, this one, the Easy hummus, and the Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus. Of the recipes with Tahini and lemon juice, this was definitely the best. Most of my taste testers liked it way more that the Authentic Middle Eastern Hummus. However, I also called my Jordanian/Palestinian friend who said their recipe is just 1 TBSP of Lemon juice and 1 TBSP Tahini per cup of chickpeas, plus salt to taste. I made that and it was less overpowering than this Syrian Hummus but still have the tahini and lemon juice flavor. By the way, if tahini and lemon juice hummus hasn't been your favorite the easy one from allrecipes is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Thank you, Mary! Hummus was one of my snack "staples" and carry-alongs in the States for the gluten-free, dairy-free, candida-free diet that I have had to follow. Since we moved back to Spain last fall, I haven't been able to find hummus that is gluten and dairy free. Just this week I finally found a gluten free Tahini and was finally able to try your recipe. One of my favorite snacks has been resurrected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Haley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States