Authentic Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I am mexican and these are not at authentic at all, however they are nice. But salsa is never optional, is the main ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Just wanted to put this bit of info out there for everyone, anything with Cheddar cheese is not authentically Mexican. If you want to reduce the fat in this dish you can just put a little bit of butter in a pan, then slightly toast the tortillas in the pan. It comes out just as good with less fat. Just a suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I don't know whether this is authentic or not; all I do know is that this breakfast was really good! I added green onion, a little enchilada sauce and some shredded pepper jack cheese. Great Giamom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Good, but not great. To make it much more authentic, fry the bacon and then use the bacon grease for the beans. Personally I prefer to cook/boil dry pinto beans then mash them up while frying them in bacon grease, just like they do in Mexico. If you don't want to prepare your own beans, then use canned pinto beans instead. Anytime I make beans for friends, they all rave about the taste. Try it and see if it doesn't improve the flavor. I also prefer a green salsa verde (tomatillo sauce) and jalisco queso instead of the red salsa and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Staunton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I make this at home often. It's very good. Different flavor salsas are fun to experiment with too. (and I also use fat free re-fried beans... they taste great)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
As others have said, these are not authentic by any means, but who cares, since my husband loved them! He even made more the next morning with the leftover ingredients and surprised me with breakfast in bed! I added diced tomato, lime juice and cilantro to the refried beans and heated it on the stove. Also, you can just use cooking spray to "fry" the tortillas, and it's just as good, but less fattening. Very delicious. EDIT: These have become a regular at our house, and my husband goes out of his way to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
These were good for Americanized Huevos Rancheros, but nothing like authentic. One thing they need is a good ranchera sauce (not salsa), but the recipe I tried from here was not very good so I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
8/20 I made this for Husband's brunch and wanted it to be a bit more substantial, so I doubled the eggs and bacon, sprinkled with lots of extra-sharp Cheddar and Mexican cheeses, topped with jarred sliced jalapenos, and served it with salsa and black beans. This was quick and easy, and very filling. Thanks, giamom! 8/25 Made these again today but spread the refried beans over flour tortillas, added scrambled egg, bacon and salsa, and rolled them up. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I see nothing authenic about this recipe. Scratch the beans, scratch the bacon - only use corn tortillas, eggs and fresh homemade salsa rojo(made from dried NM red chilis, water, salt and garlic). Maybe a little queso blanco on top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloudcroft, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Good, filling, and comforting in the way only breakfast-type food can be. I took other reviewers' advice and heated everything under the broiler to re-warm and melt the cheese. Listen to the amount of refried beans and cheese. I once eyeballed what looked like the right amount on each tortilla to me and it was a bit too much beans and not enough cheese. But when I followed the quantifies listed in the recipe, everything balanced well. I was indifferent about adding the salsa or not. Incidentally, I skipped adding butter to the beans, and skipped the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States