Authentic Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
As others have said, these are not authentic by any means, but who cares, since my husband loved them! He even made more the next morning with the leftover ingredients and surprised me with breakfast in bed! I added diced tomato, lime juice and cilantro to the refried beans and heated it on the stove. Also, you can just use cooking spray to "fry" the tortillas, and it's just as good, but less fattening. Very delicious. EDIT: These have become a regular at our house, and my husband goes out of his way to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
im not sure if this is a AUTHENTIC recipe, but it is very good. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONIX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
this was very good. I just mixed my bottled hot peppers with plain refried beans. I didn't add butter to the beans and I cooked the eggs over med. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
i love the mexican and me AND my wife loved it. oh yeah. good stuff. i love to put eggs on anything and this was a nice change from the huevos rancheros that i normally make. supurb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
8/20 I made this for Husband's brunch and wanted it to be a bit more substantial, so I doubled the eggs and bacon, sprinkled with lots of extra-sharp Cheddar and Mexican cheeses, topped with jarred sliced jalapenos, and served it with salsa and black beans. This was quick and easy, and very filling. Thanks, giamom! 8/25 Made these again today but spread the refried beans over flour tortillas, added scrambled egg, bacon and salsa, and rolled them up. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Did you know that fat free refried beans exist? I didn't until I made this recipe. Surprisingly, it still tasted really good! I'll be making this for breakfast again next weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
These were good for Americanized Huevos Rancheros, but nothing like authentic. One thing they need is a good ranchera sauce (not salsa), but the recipe I tried from here was not very good so I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Good, filling, and comforting in the way only breakfast-type food can be. I took other reviewers' advice and heated everything under the broiler to re-warm and melt the cheese. Listen to the amount of refried beans and cheese. I once eyeballed what looked like the right amount on each tortilla to me and it was a bit too much beans and not enough cheese. But when I followed the quantifies listed in the recipe, everything balanced well. I was indifferent about adding the salsa or not. Incidentally, I skipped adding butter to the beans, and skipped the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
We liked this recipe, it was something a bit different. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and after assembling, I put them under the broiler for a few minutes. My husband wasn't crazy about the fried egg and requested that I use scrambled egg next time. I made this for dinner but will make it again for weekend breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States