Authentic Huevos Rancheros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I added a corn tortilla on top. Everything else was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilacorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakdale, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I have eaten Huevos Rancheros in several parts of Mexico, Arizona, Texas and even in the Midwest. I don't know what "Authentic" means because cooks do things differently. I am going to try this because it sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
. This is nothing like the ones you get in Colorado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
you get 3 stars for originality,but this is definitely NOT authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Like other people have said, Authentic? not even close. dont mean to be mean, but the only authentic thing about that recipe was the tortillas and eggs.it sure looks good, but it has too much going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Authentic?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I see nothing authenic about this recipe. Scratch the beans, scratch the bacon - only use corn tortillas, eggs and fresh homemade salsa rojo(made from dried NM red chilis, water, salt and garlic). Maybe a little queso blanco on top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cloudcroft, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
IMHO this is a very quick and satisfying meal. I could not eat this every week due to the caloric content. But as we all know, moderation is key. This is a nice comfort food recipe. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Good, but not great. To make it much more authentic, fry the bacon and then use the bacon grease for the beans. Personally I prefer to cook/boil dry pinto beans then mash them up while frying them in bacon grease, just like they do in Mexico. If you don't want to prepare your own beans, then use canned pinto beans instead. Anytime I make beans for friends, they all rave about the taste. Try it and see if it doesn't improve the flavor. I also prefer a green salsa verde (tomatillo sauce) and jalisco queso instead of the red salsa and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Staunton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I make this at home often. It's very good. Different flavor salsas are fun to experiment with too. (and I also use fat free re-fried beans... they taste great)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States