Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BluDragon
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I love this recipe! Just made it, even though I have to let it "set", the flavor now is perfect! (I added a green bell pepper, I wanted color & didn't have parsley, I used LESS than a TBSP of sugar, as I don't like sweet, & I used a good amount of dried oregano in place of parsley, added the seasonings while sautéing onion & pepper )...can't wait to try it several hours from now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This recipe is excellent. I made a few small adjustments, but it's just a matter of taste. I lowered the sugar and raised the vinegar by a little. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon each of paprika and dill weed, and an 1/8 teaspoon powdered mustard. These small adjustments are worth a try, trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this recipe with just a few alterations to serve with Root Beer Pulled Pork Sliders. First of all, anything that has bacon in it is likely to be delicious! Upon sautéing the onions in the rendered bacon fat, I sprinkled white pepper, paprika, and ground garlic pepper seasoning onto them. When it came time to add the vinegar I opted for White Champagne Vinegar (mainly because I rarely use it.) I also added a cube of chicken bouillon to the vinegar/water mixture and took previous reviewers suggestions to scale the sugar down to 1 tablespoon. I believe this recipe would be wonderful as written, but thoroughly enjoyed my variation upon it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Delicious and very quick and easy. Used only 1 tablespoon of sugar and served with sautéed Weiss wurst and onions. Definitely a keeper. Tasted as good as my Swiss mother would have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise L Graves

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Too much sugar and not enough vinegar. This is a good place to start, but I will be making some adjustments next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
My husband doesn't like German potato salad, so I called it potatoes with bacon & onions. HE LOVED IT!!! I too loved it. This is most definitely a keeper. I had 2 hard boiled eggs in the fridge that I needed to use, so I chopped them and sprinkles them over the top of the salad...who doesn't like bacon & eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Made it, loved it, will make it again. I used red potatoes and didn't bother to peel them since I like the taste, texture and color they add. Maybe next time I'll slice them instead of dice for more authenticity, will use about half the sugar and will add a bit of stone ground mustard as that's what they seem to do in German restaurants. Served with bratwurst, sauteed onions, cabbage, and shaved brussels sprouts, and of course mustard and fresh sauerkraut. A truly satisfying feast that I can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was delish! I didn't use russets, but used Yukon golds. Next time russets - as they will absorb all the delishness. It was great tasting. Will do it again. The person who I made this for thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States