Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The sugar is what really brings this from good to great. Made this tonight (with schnitzel and spaetzel) and it was a massive hit. Absolutely going to make this again (and again (and again)).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I have made this several times over the last few years, great recipe! Have made a few modifications. First of all, I slice the potatoes into 1/4 inch rounds instead of dicing and cook about five minutes after the water starts to boil. I also double the sauce ingredients (vinegar through black pepper) and add a 1/4t of celery seed and 2T flour. If you like German potato salad, or have never had it but want to try it, this is the recipe for you! Goes great with grilled brats, pork chops or schnitzel .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Made the recipe almost exactly as written (I reduced the sugar because i was concerned about it being too sweet) but this potato salad recipe was very bland and somewhat greasy. It really needs something. Other reviewers have mentioned adding dill, I think that would help. And next time I wouldn't use all the bacon grease, maybe omit it all together and use olive oil to fry the onions. Even though I like all the ingredients in this recipe, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I made this for my husband and me for dinner tonight. I attempted to halve the recipe and eventhough the vinegar was not to my liking, I will make this again using even less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I waa looking for a recipe that didnt use celery (i have none) when i found tjis one. It makes up super easy and has great flavor! I can't wait to see what my husband thinks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny bartolo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I've never made this before but it was easy and turned out great! I happened to make bacon for breakfast and saved the drippings , so that was one less step I had to do later. I followed the recipe exactly, and just when it seemed a little too watery it just thickened right up! I would definitely make this again, but probably a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I'm giving it three stars because that is too much sugar. I will try it again without the sugar.BettieG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Add 1 T flour to bacon drippings to help thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BluDragon
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I love this recipe! Just made it, even though I have to let it "set", the flavor now is perfect! (I added a green bell pepper, I wanted color & didn't have parsley, I used LESS than a TBSP of sugar, as I don't like sweet, & I used a good amount of dried oregano in place of parsley, added the seasonings while sautéing onion & pepper )...can't wait to try it several hours from now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This recipe is excellent. I made a few small adjustments, but it's just a matter of taste. I lowered the sugar and raised the vinegar by a little. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon each of paprika and dill weed, and an 1/8 teaspoon powdered mustard. These small adjustments are worth a try, trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States