Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Sorry, but this is not authentic. I am German and even live there. We never use peeled potatos, just cook whole potatos, peel them pretty hot, cut and mix them with the sauce. Then they soak it up well when still hot. This is also too less sauce, we make a mix of hot broth and put in the vinegar/oil/salt/pepper/onion and pour it over the potatos. Broth as much as you need to make it moist and lightly creamy, depends on the potatos.. between half up to one cup and season it well so the salad doesnt get bland. And no.. not so much sugar. Max. 1 tablespoon. We dont like sweet salat. Add bacon at the end.. or whatever you like. We often put thinly sliced cucumber in it, maybe give it a try. Greets from Bavaria.. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1835 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I am German, 100%. I have been eating German Potato Salad almost all my many, many years. I've cooked many German Potato salads myself. I cooked this one today and my spouse and guests raved about it. We all agree it is better than what is served in our authentic German restaurants/German societies. I also cooked "Wisconsin Bratwurst" from Allrecipes. Opened up a jar of Aunt Nellie's red cabbage to go along with all this. What a feast!!!Vundabar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
937 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
My "authentic" recipe calls for a teaspoon of celery seed, it adds a nice texture...this is my favorite potato salad. You can use the same bacon/onion/vinegar/sugar sauce for spinach or bibb lettuce -- pour the sauce while hot over the greens to create a fabulous "wilted lettuce" salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
475 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I have been wanting to make German Potato Salad for years and never knew how. I picked this one and I am so glad that I did! However I used more bacon than called for. I didn't have fresh parsley so I threw in some dried parsley and then I sprinkled in just a little celery seed. I also used white vinegar as called for and not cider vinegar as some other recipes used. It was so good that I will probably never make traditional potato salad again. This is a lot easier too! I printed this and added it to my recipe notebook! This is a keeper! I can't wait to make this for company! If I could have given it more than five stars I would have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
We were having a luncheon at the University I work at around Christmas time and everyone was to bring a recipe from their ethnic background. I am German/Irish and I decided to cook something German rather than Irish. I found this recipe and decided to give it a go. The only thing I added was a little celery seed. There was a contest for the best dish brought to this luncheon. Everyone there, about 40/50 people, placed their vote. I was hearing everyone around me talking about how good the german potatoe salad was and to my surprise, I won first place and a $50 gift certificate. So, this recipe is wonderful! I'm making it again tomorrow for another luncheon, but there won't be any prizes this time. Pretty good for someone who never made German potatoe salad before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This is my German mom's recipe too, minus the sugar. I also use more water as the potatoes really do soak up a lot of the liquid. This is an amazing potato salad that everyone should try at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This was a delicious potato salad! I hate mayo, so I was on the hunt for a potato salad that didn't have mayo in it and found this gem! I made it the night before for a BBQ the next day and just popped it in the oven 30 minutes before we were about to eat to reheat it through. It came out perfectly and not dried out. I also tripled the recipe to feed a dozen people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
My husband doesn't like the traditional egg potato salad, so I had to come up with a potato salad he would like. I figured it must be the eggs and mayo aspect of the recipe that didn't sit well with him. I found this wonderful rendition and he (and the rest of whosenever I make it for) loves it! Especially others who don't normally like potato salad--I can't keep a full dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochamix

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This potato salad is quite good. My only complaint is that the sauce did not go far enough. I'll double it next time. We had these with barbequed ribs -- quite good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I thought this was a great recipe, just a little sweet for my taste. I have been looking for a good German potato salad recipe, and I will definitely make this one again. I will just cut back on the sugar a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States