Authentic German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
"Authentic" or not, this turned out awesome and was a big hit with all at Easter supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe called for. I was hesitant about changing anything, because some reviews said too sweet while others said too sour. The flavor is perfect! Not too sweet, not too vinegary. I'll definitely make it again but will add a little corn starch to thicken the sauce. It is so delicious, and my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
SO SO GOOD! Used this for my 3rd grader's Int'l Fest. It was a hit. Many people asked me for the recipe, German relatives approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I remember my grandmother always making German potato salad for me for all the cook outs (hate mayo based salads). I wanted to make my own and chose this recipe. I can't say it is better then my grandmothers use to be, but I have yet to serve this and not have it loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is about as close as it gets to what I consider a real hot German Potato salad. Years ago I had a recipe book with a similar recipe but it wanted you to add two medium soft boiled eggs. The yolk would be just set. I loved it with the bacon and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Tastey and easy to make. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Ich bin ein Berliner!!!!! No.... I'm not a jelly doughnut..... But this german potato salad COMPLETELY RULES!!!!!!!!!!!! I made this 5 days ago, and followed the recipe to the letter. VERY good, but I have to say, I made it again tonight with these changes and I like my changes.... Mmmmmmmmmmmm I cut my potatoes into cubes, but smaller cubes, so I can cram more of them into my mouth, and... so they cook faster.... 4 slices of bacon?...... If I was on a diet! I use 6 to 8 slices depending on how much I have left in the fridge. As for putting in half and mixing and then 1/2 on top at the end, that's good for show, so if you're taking it to a group outing or cook-off, then do that for show, but if you're eating it on your own, just put 100% in the pan and mix together for best results. I also use Apple Cider Vinegar and more like 1/3 cup for this many potatoes. Apple Cider Vinegar is DEFINITELY worth it, as it adds a little kick to the 'taters. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omegasupreme5000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is also my original recipe. Everyone loves it....my only variation is I add chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
you forgot mustard, german potato salad requires a nice grainy mustard to give it that zing. Also you don't peel the potatoes and use MUCH less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Absolutely loved it, but mixed the white vinegar with cider vinegar 50/50 for more tang
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States